- - 2015 Giro d'Italia Teams Announced

2015 Giro d'Italia Teams Announced

Organizers for the Giro d”Italia, RCS Sport, has announced the 22 teams that will participate in this year’s Giro d’Italia. 

In addition to the 17 WorldTour teams that recieve automatic admission, Bardiani CSF, Southeast, Androni Giocattoli,, Nippo Vini Fantini and the Polish team CCC Sprandi secured wild card invitations.


2014 Giro d’Italia winner Nairo Quintana (Movistar) has confirmed that he will target the Tour de France in 2015 but Alberto Contador (Tinkoff-Saxo) will ride the Giro d’Italia before the Tour de France. He is expected to clash with Fabio Aru (Astana) and Rigoberto Uran (Etixx-Quickstep).

Giro d’Italia race director Mauro Vegni said in December, that he would again support the Italian teams and also offer one wild card place to another Professional Continental team.

"As per every previous year, we reflected deeply on the wild card choices; an increasingly meticulous process thanks to the quality of the teams that want to participate in our races. I would like to thanks, on behalf of RCS Sport, all the teams that have advanced their candidacy.” 

"This year’s choices, especially for the wild cards of the Giro d’Italia, were dictated by the opportunity to support the Italian cycling movement, giving continuity to an overall process without ever losing sight of the goal of international development in strategic territories.”

Teams for 2015 Giro d’Italia: 

Ag2r-La Mondiale, Astana, BMC Racing, Etixx-QuickStep, FDJ, IAM Cycling, Lampre-Merida, Lotto-Soudal, Movistar, Orica-GreenEdge, Cannondale-Garmin, Giant Alpecin, Katusha, Team LottoNL-Jumbo, Team Sky, Tinkoff-Saxo, Trek Factory Racing, Bardiani CSF, Southeast, Androni Giocattoli, Nippo Vini Fantini and CCC Sprandi.

Leave a reply
Share on