- - Giro Rosa 2015 Stage 9

Giro Rosa 2015 Stage 9

Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv) secured the overall title in this year’s Giro Rosa, after finishing in second place today, while former two-time winner, Mara Abbott (Wiggle-Honda), claimed the 9th and final stage in a solo victory – that ended with a 13 kilometer climb to San Domenico di Varzo.

Meanwhile, Flavia Oliviera (Ale Cipollini) rounded out the podium in third at 1:13 back.

Van der Breggen started the day with a healthy overall lead after winning yesterday’s individual time trial. However, despite losing time during today’s stage, which at one point put the Dutch rider nearly two and a half minutes behind Abbott, she still managed to retain her grip on the overall classification.

In the meantime, Megan Guarnier (Boels-Dolmans), who lead most of this year’s race, following today’s results, slipped back into third place in the overall overall classification. 

Top Three Finishsers 

1 Mara Abbott (USA) Wiggle-Honda
2 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Woman Cycling Team
3 Flavia Oliveira (Bra) Ale Cipollini 

Final general classification after stage 9

1 Anna van der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Woman Cycling Team
2 Mara Abbott (USA) Wiggle-Honda
3 Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans



Leave a reply
Share on