- - Tour of Britain 2016 Stage 5

Tour of Britain 2016 Stage 5


photo credits @ Tour of Britain/Facebook 

Cannondale-Drapac’s Jack Bauer won stage 5 of the Tour of Britain today, after the New Zealand rider emerged victorious during a four-rider sprint finish.

Bauer managed to outsprint his fellow breakaway companions, Amal Moinard (BMC), Erick Rowsell (Madison-Genesis), who finished in second and third place respectively, while Caleb Ewan (Orica-BikeExchange) took the field sprint for fourth, after the peloton swept up Javier Moreno (Movistar) just before the line. 

Race Highlights

Bauer was part of a five-rider breakaway group containing Johnny McEvoy (NFTO), Rowsell, Bauer, Moinard and Moreno, that got underway during the distort few kilometers of today’s stage.

From there, the quintet went on to build up an advantage of almost five and a half minutes over the peloton.

However, with just 10 kilometers remaining, the photon succeeded in reducing the escapees’ lead to just one minute. 

With 6 kilometers to go, the escapees began attacking one another, with Moinard getting clear just after a short climb, while McEvoy lost contact with the group all together. 

The four men would later regrouped with under 3 kilometers to go, as their gap continued to drop dramatically.

Meanwhile, Team Sky’s Ian Standard continued to drive the pace of the peloton, with lead-out trains of Etixx-QuickStep and LottoNL-Jumbo eager to follow. 

Moinard made one more strong but unsuccessful attack in the final two kilometers as the four riders linked up again under the flame rouge.

A tactical four-way battle to the line saw Moreno start the sprint but it was Bauer who took the stage glory just ahead of the bunch sprint behind.

Julien Vermote (Etixx-QuickStep) continues to lead the race, with a 6 second advantage over Stephen Cummings (Dimension Data).  


Top 10 Finishers

1 Jack Bauer (NZl) Cannondale-Drapac 5:45:25
2 Amaël Moinard (Fra) BMC Racing Team
3 Erick Rowsell (GBr) Madison Genesis
4 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-BikeExchange
5 Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo
6 Boy Van Poppel (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
7 Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Soudal
8 Daniel Mclay (GBr) Fortuneo – Vital Concept
9 Nicola Ruffoni (Ita) Bardiani CSF
10 José Gonçalves (Por) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA

General classification after stage 5

1 Julien Vermote (Bel) Etixx – Quick-Step 23:07:29
2 Stephen Cummings (GBr) Dimension Data 0:00:06
3 Ben Swift (GBr) Team Sky 0:01:03
4 Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal
5 Daniel Martin (Irl) Etixx – Quick-Step 0:01:04
6 Xandro Meurisse (Bel) Wanty-Groupe Gobert 0:01:08
7 Dylan Van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale-Drapac 0:01:12
8 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin
9 Jacopo Mosca (Ita) Trek-Segafredo 0:01:16
10 Nicolas Roche (Irl) Team Sky


Leave a reply
Share on