- - Tour de San Luis 2016 Stage 2

Tour de San Luis 2016 Stage 2


photo credits @ Tour de San Luis 


One day after helping the squad finish first in the team time trial, the Colombian sprinted to victory in stage 2 of the Tour de San Luis

Hot temperatures, a mainly flat course and Maximiliano Richeze in the leader’s jersey: these were the coordinates of at the start of the second day in Tour de San Luis, 181.9 kilometers between San Luis and Villa Mercedes. Six riders decided to go into the break – Juan I.Curuchet, Ariel Sivori, Emiliano Ibarra, Israel Nuño, Genki Yamamoto and Caio Godoy – who put almost immediately five minutes between them and the peloton. From that group, Sivori took the maximum points on the day’s sole categorized climb, while Curuchet came on top at both intermediate sprints.

Race Highlights

In the last 20 kilometers, Yamamoto, Sivori and Godoy broke clear of their breakaway companions and at one point enjoyed a 5-minute lead, which made them dream of taking the victory. But the Etixx – Quick-Step riders did a great job in that final part of the stage, pulled hard and caught the remnants of the escape inside the last kilometer. Guided by none other than Maximiliano Richeze, the green jersey wearer, Fernando Gaviria timed his sprint to perfection and scored his first victory of the season, ahead of world champion Peter Sagan and Elia Viviani.

Thanks to this win and the bonus seconds he got on the line, the young Colombian now leads the general classification and the U23 rankings.


Top 10 Finishers

1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Etixx-QuickStep 4:23:54
2 Peter Sagan (Slk) Tinkoff Team
3 Elia Viviani (Ita) Team Italy
4 Eduard Michael Grosu (Rom) Nippo Vini Fantini
5 Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Arg) Team Jamis
6 Max Richeze (Arg) Etixx-QuickStep
7 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Androni-Sidermec
8 Jason Lowndes (Aus) Drapac Professional Cycling
9 Jakub Mareczko (Ita) Team Italy
10 Marco Canola (Ita) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling

General classification after stage 2

1 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Etixx-QuickStep 4:47:37
2 Max Richeze (Arg) Etixx-QuickStep 0:00:10
3 Lukasz Wisniowski (Pol) Etixx-QuickStep
4 Dayer Quintana (Col) Movistar 0:00:18
5 Adriano Malori (Ita) Movistar Team
6 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team
7 Marc Soler (Spa) Movistar Team
8 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Movistar Team
9 Peter Sagan (Slk) Tinkoff Team 0:00:27
10 Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Astana Pro Team

Leave a reply
Share on