- - Tour de San Luis 2016 Stage 5

Tour de San Luis 2016 Stage 5

German Tivani claimed the biggest victory of his career today, after out-sprinting his fellow breakaway companions to win stage 5 of the Tour de San Luis.  

The young Argentinian rider representing his country, managed to hold-off Dani Diaz (Deklo Marseile Provence KTM), and Emiliano Ibarra (S.E.P San Juan) in a three-man sprint for the line.

Race Highlights

A four-man breakaway group succeeded in escaping early on in today’s stage, but the escapees were never allowed to stray beyond a 5 minute advantage, while the Fortuneo-Vital Concept team of race leader Eduardo Sepulveda and the Italian National Team for Elia Viviani, kept a watchful eye over them. 

With 110 kilometers remaining, the breakaway group was still holding onto their 5 minute lead. However, by the time the race had entered into the last 30 kilometers, their gap had been cut in half.

Shortly thereafter, a massive crash struck the peloton, claiming several victims, to include Nairo Quintana, and his teammate Adriano Malori, who was forced to abandon the race.

Meanwhile, Ramiro Cabrera (Uruguay) got dropped from the breakaway group, which continued to forge ahead. 

Back in the peloton, once the chaos cleared, Etixx-Quickstep and Lampre-Merida took up the pace setting in pursuit of the lead trio, who were  still clinging to a 4 minute lead, as they reached the final 25 kilometer mark. 

As the escapees entered into the final 3 kilometers, Diaz decided to attack his breakaway companions, but his efforts were short-lived, as the trio quickly came back together again. 

From there, the race began shaping up as a battle of wits, with Tivani ultimately emerging as the strongest rider in a three-man dash for the line. 

Top 10 Finishers

1 German N. Tivani (Arg) Argentina 3:37:39
2 Daniel Diaz (Arg) Delko-Marseille-KTM
3 Emiliano Ibarra (Arg) S.E.P. San Juan
4 Elia Viviani (Ita) Italy 0:01:34
5 Lucas Sebastian Haedo (Arg) Team Jamis
6 Eduard M. Grosu (Rom) Nippo Vini Fantini
7 Davide Cimolai (Ita) Lampre-Merida
8 Yannick Martinez (Fra) Delko-Marseille-KTM
9 Marco Canola (Ita) Unitedhealthcare
10 Grega Bole (Slo) Nippo Vini Fantini

General classification after stage 5

1 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Fortuneo Vital Concept 15:39:29
2 Dayer Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:03
3 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:42
4 Miguel A. Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team 0:00:51
5 Roman Villalobos (CRc) Costa Rica 0:01:06
6 Janier Acevedo (Col) Team Jamis 0:01:09
7 Ilia Koshevoy (Blr) Lampre-Merida 0:01:22
8 Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:01:36
9 Andre Cardoso (Por) Cannondale 0:01:37
10 Rodolfo Torres (Col) Androni Giocattoli

Leave a reply
Share on