- - Tour of Flanders 2015 Women's

Tour of Flanders 2015 Women’s

photo credit @ Wiggle – Honda

Elisa Longo-Borghini (Wiggle Honda) claimed this year’s women’s Tour of Flanders World Cup in a solo victory today, after beating her closest rivals by more than a minute.

The Italian rider made her move during the final 20 kilometers, and from there, never looked back.

Meanwhile, her teammate, Jolien D’hoore, finished in second place, with Anna van der Breggen (Rabo Liv Women) rounding out the podium in third.

“This is a dream. I am always the slowest in a break, so I had to go alone,” said the overjoyed winner after the stage. “Trust your instincts.”

Race Highlights

The peloton stayed together for most of today’s 144.9 kilometer race. However, as the riders reached the 57.5 kilometer mark, attacks started to get underway, subsequently causing a group of about 30 riders to break free of the field.

From there, Roxane Kneteman (Rabo Liv Women) attacked on the Leberg. However, the Dutch rider enjoyed only a brief moment out front before being reclaimed by the chase.

Another attack ensued from there, this time with a small group of five riders coming to the fore. However, just as Kneteman, they too were caught just before the climb of the Valkenberg.

Shortly thereafter, Ellen Van Dijk (Boels-Dolman), Christine Majerus (Boels-Dolman), Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Rabo Liv Women), Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle Honda), Mayuko Hagiwara (Wiggle Honda), Alena Amialiusik (Velocio), Gracie Elvin (Orica-AIS) and Annemiek van Vleuten (Bigla), commenced a large scale attack.

As a result, Simona Frapporti (Ale Cippolini), Andrea Dvorak (Twenty 16), and Janneke Ensing (Parkhotel Valkenburg) took up the chase in earnest.

However, with 40 kilometers remaining, the escapees were swept up by the determined peloton.

Undeterred, Van Vleuten attempt another attack of her own, only to be quickly reeled back in just before the start of the Kanarieberg.

With 20 kilometers remaining, Borghini and Trixi Worrack (Velocio-SRAM) decided to make a go of it, wherein Worrack was quickly retrieved by the chase, while Borghini succeeded in opening up a sizable gap of almost a minute for herself.

As the race headed into the final 15 kilometers, Borghini was still holding onto her lead, while back in the chase, a group of 8 riders, including world champion Pauline Ferrand-Prevot (Rabo Liv Women) initiated a counter-attack.

With 10 kilometers to go, Borghini was still maintaining her lead, while Ferrand-Prevot, Armitstead (Boels-Dolman), Van Vleuten, van der Breggen, and Ashleigh Moolman-Passio (Bigla) continued to lead the chase.

However, despite their valiant attempt to track down Borghini, there was no catching the Italian rider, who later crossed the finish with a one minute advantage over the chasers. 

photo credit @ Twitter

Top 20 Finishers

1 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle Honda
2 Jolien D`Hoore (Bel) Wiggle Honda
3 Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
4 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Bigla Pro Cycling Team
5 Elena Cecchini (Ita) Lotto Soudal Ladies
6 Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Velocio – SRAM
7 Pauline Ferrand Prevot (Fra) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
8 Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
9 Chantal Blaak (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
10 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Bigla Pro Cycling Team
11 Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team
12 Lauren Hall (USA) Twenty 16 P/B Sho-Air
13 Emma Johansson (Swe) Orica – AIS
14 Joelle Numainville (Can) Bigla Pro Cycling Team
15 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Velocio – SRAM
16 Lucinda Brand (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team
17 Eugenia Bujak (Pol) BTC City Ljubljana
18 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur
19 Tiffany Cromwell (Aus) Velocio – SRAM
20 Janneke Ensing (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team

Leave a reply
Share on