- - Vuelta a San Juan 2017 Stage 6

Vuelta a San Juan 2017 Stage 6


Max Richeze Made it Four Victories in Six Stages for Quick-Step Floors at the Vuelta a San Juan

Max Richeze managed to escapee from a larger breakaway group alongside Oliveiro Troia (Abu Dhabi) and Nicolas Tivani (Unieuro Trevigiani) at the halfway-point in yesterday’s stage.

From there, the trio succeeded in holding off the peloton to contest the stage victory amongst themselves, with Richeze ultimately beating Troia, while Tivani finished in third.

“This morning, at the team briefing, we decided to go for a bunch sprint, but Brama told me that if more than eight riders make it into the break, then I am to join them and give the team an easy day after what has been a hard week. It was a tough and terrible stage because of the heat, and I arrived at the finish in Pocito completely drained, but with a big smile on my face”, said Richeze.

“Winning here gives me huge joy, one year after wearing the leader’s jersey at the Tour de San Luis. I love the trust of the team and I want to thank them for believing in me. My job was to work for Fernando and Tom, and to get such an opportunity really meant a lot for me. It’s a great day not only because it was the Difunta Correa stage – which is very important for the Argentinean people – but also because my brothers are here in the race, while my mother and father came at the finish, and to share this victory with them is something very special”, added Richeze.


Race Highlights

A sizable breakaway group containing Richeze, Troia, Tivani, Manuele Boaro (Bahrain-Merida), Ruben Ramos, Juan Molina (both Argentina), Emiliano Ibarra (Sep-San Juan) Kazushige Kuboki (Nippo-Vini Fantini), Omar Azzem (Los Cascos Esco-Agropla) and Julian Cardona (Medellin-Inder), managed to ride clear early-on in the stage.

From there, Molina won the first intermediate sprint, while Tivani took the second sprint on the way back to Pocito.

In between the sprints, the escapees tackled a double ascent of the Category 3 climb of the Cuesta de las Vacas, with Azzem claiming the KOM points on both occasions – though Franco López already had the classification sewn up.

Not long after, race officials decided to shorten the stage by 17 kilometers due to extreme heat.

Richeze launched his attack from there, taking Troia and Tivani along with him, while their former breakaway companions fought hard to try and  reel them back in.

Heading into the final 40 kilometers, the trio had succeeded in opening up a gap of nearly six minutes.

While the leaders continued to remain well outside of their clutches, back in the peloton Trek-Segafredo was busy working hard to try and limit the time gap in order to keep Bauke Mollema in the overall lead.  

Meanwhile, the trio went on to contest the sprint with Richeze emerging victorious over his two rivals.

Vuelta a San Juan 2017 - 35th Edition - 5th stage Chimbas - Alto Colorado 162,4 km - 27/01/2017 - Bauke Mollema (NED - Trek - Segafredo) - photo Ilario Biondi/BettiniPhoto©2017

Mollema managed to finish safely in the main field with enough of a time gap to retain his grip on the overall race lead, while he continues to lead Oscar Sevilla (Medellin – Inder) by 14 seconds, followed by Rodolfo Torres (Andiron Giocattoli – Sidermec) in third a further 2 seconds back. 

Top 20 Finishers

1 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Quick-Step Floors 3:48:47
2 Oliviero Troia (Ita) Team UAE Abu Dhabi
3 German Nicolas Tivani (Arg) Unieuro Trevigiani – Hemus 1896
4 Matteo Malucelli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec 0:00:52
5 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Wilier Triestina
6 Jose Luis Rivera (Arg) Equipo Continental Municipalidad de Pocito
7 Mattia Viel (Ita) Unieuro Trevigiani – Hemus 1896
8 Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team
9 Nicolas Marini (Ita) Nippo – Vini Fantini
10 Luke Keough (USA) UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team
11 Rémi Cavagna (Fra) Quick-Step Floors
12 Daniel Juarez (Arg) Asociacion Civil Mardan
13 Ricardo Escuela (Arg) Agrupacion Virgen De Fatima
14 Wilmer Dario Rodriguez (Col) Italomat-dogo
15 Laureano Rosas (Arg) Argentina
16 Emerson Da Silva (Bra) Brazil
17 Andrea Guardini (Ita) Team UAE Abu Dhabi
18 Oscar Sevilla (Spa) Medellin – Inder
19 Flavio De Luna (Mex) Mexico
20 Julian Paulo Gaday (Arg) Los Cascos Esco – Agroplan

General classification after stage 6

1 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 18:02:09
2 Oscar Sevilla (Spa) Medellin – Inder 0:00:14
3 Rodolfo Torres (Col) Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec 0:00:16
4 Ricardo Escuela (Arg) Agrupacion Virgen De Fatima 0:00:20
5 Rui Costa (Por) Team UAE Abu Dhabi 0:00:26
6 Laureano Rosas (Arg) Argentina 0:00:27
7 Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team 0:00:52
8 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team 0:01:17
9 Egan Bernal (Col) Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec 0:01:29
10 Pieter Serry (Bel) Quick-Step Floors 0:01:31
11 Eduardo Sepúlveda (Arg) Argentina 0:01:49
12 Enzo Josue Moyano (Arg) Equipo Continental Municipalidad de Pocito 0:02:04
13 Juan Pablo Dotti (Arg) Sindicato Empleados Públicos of San Juan 0:02:22
14 Julian Barrientos (Arg) Equipo Bolivia 0:02:23
15 Rafael Reis (Por) Caja Rural – Seguros RGA 0:02:36
16 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr) Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team 0:03:07
17 Gonzalo Najar (Arg) Sindicato Empleados Públicos of San Juan 0:03:13
18 Julen Amezqueta (Spa) Wilier Triestina 0:03:33
19 Juan Pablo Magallanes (Mex) Mexico 0:03:38
20 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Bahrain Merida Pro Cycling Team

Leave a reply
Share on