- - Zilvermeercross - Mol 2015

Zilvermeercross – Mol 2015


photo credits @ Belga

Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace) continued his winning ways this season, after dominating today’s Zilvermeercross in Mol, Belgium, in a final battle against world champion Mathieu van der Poel (BKCP-Corendon) and Laurens Sweeck (Era Real Estate-Muprotec). 

Van Aert and van der Poel managed to ride clear of the main field during the third lap, where they were later joined by Sweeck.

From there, the trio eventually caught Sven Nys, Rob Peeters and Tom Meeusen, who were leading at the front.

However,  Van Aert’s pace would ultimately prove to be too strong for his rivals to follow, as the young Belgian rider eventually pulled away to take a solo victory.

Top 20 Finishers

1 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Pa… 1:03:32
2 Mathieu van der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Corendon 0:00:20
3 Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Cibel 0:00:27
4 Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan – AA-Drink 0:00:35
5 Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Pa…
6 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea 0:00:58
7 Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Team Giant-Alpecin 0:01:34
8 David Van Der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Corendon 0:01:48
9 Daan Hoeyberghs (Bel) BKCP-Corendon 0:01:53
10 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Corendon 0:02:17
11 Diether Sweeck (Bel) Cibel 0:02:28
12 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games 0:02:31
13 Jan Denuwelaere (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Pa… 0:03:24
14 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan – AA-Drink 0:03:50
15 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) Colba-Superano Ham 0:03:59
16 Yannick Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Pa… 0:04:20
17 Jens Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Pa… 0:04:26
18 Stijn Caluwe (Bel) Enertherm-BCKP 0:04:51
19 Dave De Cleyn (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZW 0:05:12
20 Vinnie Braet (Bel) Colba-Superano Ham 0:05:31

With the unstoppable Sanne Cant out of the picture, Jolien Verschueren (Young Telenet Fidea) emerged victorious in the elite women’s Zilvermeercross today, after claiming a solo victory ahead of the Dutch duo of Sabrina Stultiens (Liv-Plantur) and Sanne van Paassen (Team Bioaful).

After a slow start, Verschueren eventually made her way to the lead group containing Van Paassen, Stultiens, Laura Verdonschot and Elle Anderson.

From there, Verschueren succeeded in establishing the gap she needed to hold off her rivals to the finish – crossing the line nearly 20 seconds over the chase.

“My start was not good again, although that is putting it mildly,” Verschueren told “Actually, it was downright bad… Bit by bit I managed to catch up with the opposition.”

Top 20 Finishers

1 Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Young Telenet Fidea 0:43:46
2 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Team Liv-Plantur 0:00:17
3 Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) Boels Dolmans CT 0:00:25
4 Laura Verdonschot (Bel) Cyclocross Vorselaar 0:00:27
5 Loes Sels (Bel) Young Telenet Fidea
6 Elle Anderson (USA) United States 0:00:41
7 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Young Telenet Fidea 0:01:28
8 Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) WT Decock-Vandekerckhove 0:02:04
9 Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg CT 0:02:09
10 Shana Maes (Bel) Cyclocross Vorselaar 0:02:49
11 Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Kempens Cyclingteam vzw 0:03:04
12 Esmee Oosterman (Ned) Selectie – Nederland 0:03:32
14 Lindy Van Anrooij (Bel) Jos Feron Lady Force 0:03:52
15 Karlijn Swinkels (Ned) Selectie – Nederland 0:04:32
16 Suzanne Verhoeven (Ned) WV De Jonge Renner Ooster… 0:04:41
17 Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe) Selectie – Zweden 0:05:20
18 Katrien Thijs (Bel) Kempens Cyclingteam vzw 0:05:56
19 Esther Van Der Burg (Ned) Restore Cycling Team Wome… 0:06:01
20 Christine Vardaros (USA) United States

Leave a reply
Share on