- - 2013 Shipwreck Coast Classic

2013 Shipwreck Coast Classic

New Zealander Alex Ray outsprinted Dutchman Floris Goesinnen to win the 2013 Shipwreck Coast Classic in Warrnambool today.

Ray (Target-Trek) and Goesinnen (Drapac) broke away from the peloton inside the final 15 kilometers before fighting for the victory.  Budget Forklifts Jake Kauffmann finished third to round out the podium.

“This win is up there with the best in my career,” said Ray. “This is my last race of the season so it’s great to go out with a win."

Stormy conditions greeted the 110 strong peloton as it made its way out of the seaside town of Warrnambool, the heavy winds and some hail combining to force all but 33 riders out of the race.

Ray was part of a breakaway group which formed 11 kilometers into the 128 kilometer Great Ocean Road race, the kiwi then attacking the group with 15 kilometers to go, taking Goesinnen with him.

“Towards the end of the race a lot of the guys started looking around at each other and attacking but it wasn’t until later on that I was able to get away," Ray said. 

“Luckily I had Floris on my wheel which helped because his teammates didn’t need to chase us."

Shipwreck Coast Classic: 

132.1km, Warrnambool to Warrnambool
1 Alexander Ray (Target-Trek) 3hr 03min 53sec
2 Floris Goesinnen (Drapac)    
3 Jacob Kaufmann (Budget Forklifts) 0:00:04
4 Nicholas Bien (Essendon/Skoda)
5 Joel Strachan (Target Trek)
6 Jacob Restall    
7 Trevor Spencer (Charter Mason/Drapac) 0:00:09
8 William Walker (Drapac)
9 Callum Scotson (Euride Racing) 0:00:14
10 Luke Davison (Drapac)

Leave a reply
Share on