- - 2013 Soudal Scheldecross Antwerpen

2013 Soudal Scheldecross Antwerpen

Niels Albert won the 2013 Soudal Cyclocross in Antwerp today – with teammates Mathieu Van der Poel and Philipp Walsleben finishing in second and third respectively. 

Albert took an early lead – setting a fast pace with world champion Sven Nys on his heels. However, the Belgian rider eventually slipped back into the main field after the first lap. 

It was during the final lap that Albert made his move from mid pack back into the fore and on to a solo victory. 

Van der Poel was seen cracking a smile as he crossed the finish, followed by and Walsleben with raised arms. It was a 1,2,3 finish for the BKCP-Powerplus team today.

Soudal Classics Cyclocross – Scheldecross at Antwerpen Elite Men’s Results:

1, Niels Albert (BKCP-Powerplus)
2, Mathieu Van der Poel (Enertherm-BKCP)
3, Philipp Walsleben (BKCP-Powerplus)
4, Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Napoleon Games)
5, Rob Peeters (Telenet-Fidea)
6, Klaas Vantornout (Sunweb-Napoleon Games)
7, Wout Van Aert (Telenet-Fidea)
8, Jim Aernouts (Sunweb-Napoleon Games)
9, Sven Nys (Crelan-KDL)
10, Dieter Vanthourenhout (BKCP-Powerplus)


Katie Compton won the women’s event today – just beating the ever shadowing Sanne Cant at the finish. British cyclocross champion Nikki Harris rounded out the podium in third place. 

Today’s race saw Ellen Van Loy lead the first lap, but was soon replaced Cant with Sanne Van Paassen in tow. 

In the meantime, Compton began making her way up the through the field, eventually reaching the leaders – and at one point developed a slight gap over Cant. In addition,  Harris also made her way slowly up to the front – distancing Van Loy and Paassen in the interim. 

Compton continued to stay ahead of Cant, despite being caught behind a lapped rider who refused to yield. 


Harris soloed in for third, ahead of a visibly upset  Van Loy.

Elite Women’s Results:

1, Katie Compton (Trek Cyclocross Collective)
2, Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP)
3, Nikki Harris (Telenet Fidea)
4, Ellen Van Loy (DNCS-Pro 2012)
5, Loes Sels (DNCS-Pro 2012)
6, Githa Michiels (Belgium)
7, Pavla Havlikova (Telenet-Fidea)
8, Karen Verhestraeten (Sengers Ladies)
9, Laura Verdonschot (DJ.Matic-Kortrijk)
10, Monique Van De Ree (Netherlands)


Leave a reply
Share on