- - 2014 GP Stad Eeklo Cyclocross Race

2014 GP Stad Eeklo Cyclocross Race

Tom Meeusen doubled up his wins this weekend by claiming the 2014 G.P. Stad Eeklo cyclocross event yesterday, following his victory in the Superprrestige Middlekerke race on Saturday. 

Yesterday’s race, saw a trio of three riders consisting of Meeusen, Michael Vanthourenhout and Tim Merleir form a lead early on. However, for the Merleir, the pace proved to be too fast for the Belgian rider who subsequently dropped back to finish in 10th spot. 

Meanwhile, neither of the two remaining leaders was able to shed the other, as the race came down to a sprint finish, wherein Meeusen proved to be the stronger of the two men. 

Wout Van Aert followed in third place ahead of Sven Nys to round out the podium.

Top 20 Finishers

1 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 2 Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games Cycling Team  3 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team  4 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan-AA Drink Cycling Team  5 Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team  6 Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan-AA Drink Cycling Team  7 Jens Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace Cycling Team  8 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games Cycling Team  9 Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team  10 Tim Merlier (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games Cycling Team   11 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team  12 Marcel Meisen (Ger) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team  13 Quinten Hermans (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 14 Jens Vandekinderen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team     15 Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games Cycling Team 16 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team 17 Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Crelan KDL Cycling Team 18 Mariusz Gil (Pol) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team 19 Jonas Degroote (Bel) Vistamedia Hamme  20 Jonathan Page (USA) Fuji-Spy-Competitive Cyclist

Leave a reply
Share on