- - 2014 Soudal Cyclocross Race Leuven

2014 Soudal Cyclocross Race Leuven





Sven Nys rode to victory in today’s 2014 Soudal Cyclocross Race in Leuven, Belgium.

With four laps remaining, the race became a three-man battle between Nys, Kevin Pauwels and Tom Meeusen.  

Going into the final lap, all three appeared poised for victory, when Meeusen experienced a mechanical problem while out front. At that point, he proceeded to wave the others through, and that’s when Nys attacked – leaving Pauwels to chase in earnest. 

From there, Nys built up a five-second gap – that would eventually lead him to a solo victory. Meanwhile, Meeusen managed to recover and secure third place on the podium. 


1 Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan-AA Drink Cycling Team 1:03:04   2 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:00:05   3 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 0:00:24   4 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus 0:00:27   5 Bart Aernouts (Bel) AA Drink Cycling Team 0:00:29   6 Thijs van Amerongen (Ned) AA Drink Cycling Team 0:00:48   7 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team 0:00:53   8 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:00   9 Wietse Bosmans (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus Cycling Team 0:01:06   10 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb–Napoleon Games 0:01:37   11 Joeri Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace 0:01:42   12 Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace Cycling Team 0:02:12   13 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:02:24   14 Vincent Baestaens (Bel) Crelan KDL Cycling Team 0:03:01   15 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Crelan-AA Drink Cycling Team 0:03:07   16 Mariusz Gil (Pol) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team 0:03:18   17 Jonathan Page (USA) Fuji-Spy-Competitive Cyclist 0:03:26   18 Eddy van IJzendoorn (Ned) Team Natubalans-Apex 0:03:50   19 Javier Ruiz de Larrrinaga (Spa) 0:04:18   20 Marcel Meisen (Ger) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team 0:05:01   21 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team 0:05:07   22 Yu Takenouchi (Jpn) Colba-Superano Ham 0:05:31   -1lap Jon Intsausti (Spa)     -2laps Jonas Pedersen (Swe)     -2laps Niels Koyen (Bel) DNCS-Pro 2012 Cycling Team     -3laps Yves Coolen (Bel)     -4laps Fredrik Edin (Swe) Cykloteket Racing Team     -4laps Edwin De Wit (Bel)     -4laps Tom Chapman (Aus)     -4laps Nick Both (Aus)     -5laps Luke Gray (GBr) Trek Cyclocross Collective     DNF Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games Cycling Team     DNF Martin Bina (Cze) Kwadro-Stannah Cycling Team     DNF Alexander Meyland (Aus)     DNF Martin Eriksson (Swe)     DNF Magnus Darvell (Swe) Team Kalas Merida     DNF Calle Friberg (Swe) Scott Sports     DNF Toki Sawada (Jpn) Team Bridgestone Anchor

Marianne Vos

In the women’s race,  Marianne Vos  triumphed over  Sanne Cant.  Meanwhile, Niki Harris finished third –  56 seconds behind the winner. 


1 Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 0:40:52   2 Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm-BKCP 0:00:42   3 Nikki Harris (GBr) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 0:00:56   4 Loes Sels (Bel) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 0:02:49   5 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 0:02:56   6 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Young Telenet-Fidea Cycling Team 0:03:46   7 Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Cycling Team Drogenboom 0:04:09   8 Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Kleur Op Maat Cycling Team 0:04:51   9 Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe) Varbergs MTB-Cube 0:05:17   10 Laura Verdonschot (Bel) VZW Lotto-Ladiescycling 0:05:58   11 Katrien Thijs (Bel) Kleur Op Maat Cycling Team 0:06:23   12 Lindy Van Anrooij (Ned) ZRTC Theo Middelkamp 0:06:28   13 Hilde Quintens (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZW 0:07:14   -1lap Christine Vardaros (USA) Team Stevens     -1lap Shana Maes (Bel) Kriekel Cycling Team     -1lap Ayako Toyooka (Jpn) Panasonic Ladies     -1lap Meg De Bruyne (Bel) Rijschool AH -Gentse VS     -2laps Brenda Kazmarczyk (Bel)     -2laps Mara Schwager (Bel)     -2laps Marijke De Pauw (Bel) Noord-West Brabant     -2laps Lene Vrijsen (Bel)     -2laps Tine Verdeyen (Bel) Cycling Team Zemst VZW     -2laps Cindy Diericx (Bel) Autoglass Wetteren Solar CT


Leave a reply
Share on