- - 2014 Tour de San Luis Stage 1

2014 Tour de San Luis Stage 1



The 27 year-old American rider, Phillip Gaimon, soloed to victory in the opening stage of the 2014 Tour de San Luis in Argentina today. Emiliano Contreras finished  in second place at 12 seconds back, while Marc De Maar rounded out the podium in third at 1:17 behind.

Gaimon was part of a five-man breakaway group containing Leandro Messineo, Emiliano Contreras, Julian Gaday and Marc De Maar who managed to escape early on in today’s 164 kilometer stage from San Luis to Villa Mercedes – at one point creating a gap as much as 11 minutes over the main peloton. 

After securing the points jersey, Goday was content with allowing the group to ride clear, while De Maar and Messineo were both eliminated by crashes in the later part of the stage. 

In turn, Gaimon subsequently rode away from Contreras – claiming not only the stage win, but the mountains jersey as well.

Earlier in the race, the Omega Pharma-QuickStep team took charge of keeping the breakaway group in sight. However, with no rider able to consolidate the gap, the team decided to give up the pursuit at the 70 kilometer mark.  

Sacha Modolo brought the rest of the main field in at 4:35 back.

Top 25 Finishers

1 Phillip Gaimon (USA) Garmin Sharp 4:06:54   2 Emiliano J. Contreras (Arg) Argentina 0:00:12   3 Marc De Maar (AHo) Team Unitedhealthcare 0:01:17   4 Leandro Messineo (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos 0:01:26   5 Cristian Da Rosa (Bra) Clube Dataro de Ciclismo-Bottecchia 0:03:52   6 Adrian Alvarado (Chi) Chile     7 Christian Meier (Can) Orica Greenedge     8 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida 0:04:35   9 Kenny De Haes (Bel) Lotto Belisol     10 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli     11 Luke Keough (USA) Team Unitedhealthcare  12 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin Sharp 13 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek Factory Racing  14 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team  15 Carlos Alzate (Col) Team Unitedhealthcare     16 Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Bretagne – Seche Environnement     17 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) Orica Greenedge     18 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team  19 Juan Jose Haedo (Arg) Jamis-Hagens Berman     20 Clement Koretzky (Fra) Bretagne – Seche Environnement     21 Juan Esteban Arango (Col) Team Colombia     22 Juan Pablo Valencia (Col) Team Colombia  23 Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin Sharp     24 Alcides Vieira (Bra) Clube Dataro de Ciclismo-Bottecchia  25 Andrey Amador Bakkazakova (CRc) Movistar Team

Leave a reply
Share on