- - 2014 Tour de San Luis Stage 3

2014 Tour de San Luis Stage 3


Francisco Ventoso finished second, while Tom Boonen was third – followed by Tyler Farrar in fourth.

Phil Gaimon successfully defended his overall lead by a margin of 1:47 over second-place Marc de Maar.

“It’s been a great experience so far. I hope to keep it up,” said Gaimon. “It was long, hot, windy, but my team rode well today.”

Today’s race saw a breakaway group remain out front for more than 50 kilometers. However, once they were reeled in, the race splintered from there, causing team Garmin’s Ben King to work extra hard in order to help move his teammate Gaimon up to the front. 

“With the heat, it’s just really hard riding the front,” said King. “We let a good break go, and I pulled for 80K, and then we got good help from the sprinters’ teams. … It was a hard day to be a donkey.”

At one point, the peloton came back together – with several teams positioning themselves for a sprint finish.

The Lampre-Merida team was the first to open up a sprint with two of it’s riders. However, both faded just outside the final 250 meter. This in turn brought Mark Cavendish to the fore, along with his teammate Tom Boonen. However, the British rider hesitated – allowing Boonen to launch forward.

The Belgian rider could not hold the pace, however, as Nizzolo came around him to seize victory – followed by Ventoso.

The Tour de San Luís continues tomorrow with the 168 kilometer stage – from El Potrero de los Funes to Alto del Amago.

Top 25 Finishers

1 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek Factory Racing 4:14:19   2 Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team     3 Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team   4 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin Sharp  5 Davide Appollonio (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale     6 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale  7 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team   8 Juan Esteban Arango (Col) Team Colombia     9 Edwin Alcibiades Avila (Col) Team Colombia     10 Marc De Maar (AHo) Team Unitedhealthcare     11 Clement Koretzky (Fra) Bretagne – Seche Environnement     12 Anthony Delaplace (Fra) Bretagne – Seche Environnement     13 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team     14 Peter Stetina (USA) BMC Racing Team     15 Fredrik Carl Wilhelm Kessiakoff (Swe) Astana Pro Team 16 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) Orica Greenedge     17 Mikel Landa Meana (Spa) Astana Pro Team     18 Martijn Verschoor (Ned) Team Novo Nordisk 19 Luke Keough (USA) Team Unitedhealthcare  20 Lucas Euser (USA) Team Unitedhealthcare     21 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Orica Greenedge     22 Christian Meier (Can) Orica Greenedge     23 Eugenio Alafaci (Ita) Trek Factory Racing     24 Facundo Lezica (Arg) Argentina     25 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne – Seche Environnement

General classification after stage 3    

1 Phillip Gaimon (USA) Garmin Sharp 12:34:53   2 Marc De Maar (AHo) Team Unitedhealthcare 0:01:47   3 Christian Meier (Can) Orica Greenedge 0:03:56   4 Peter Stetina (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:04:16   5 Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Col) Trek Factory Racing     6 Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) BMC Racing Team 0:04:19   7 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team 8 Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (Spa) Trek Factory Racing 0:04:21   9 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 10 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Orica Greenedge  11 Damiano Caruso (Ita) Cannondale 0:04:24   12 Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin Sharp 13 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne – Seche Environnement  14 Miguel Angel Rubiano (Col) Team Colombia  15 Enzo Moyano (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos 0:04:27 16 Lucas Euser (USA) Team Unitedhealthcare  17 Isaac Bolivar (Col) Team Unitedhealthcare     18 Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne – Seche Environnement 0:04:47   19 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica Greenedge     20 Robert Squire (USA) Jamis-Hagens Berman 21 Winner Anacona Gomez (Col) Lampre-Merida 0:04:50   22 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Lotto Belisol 0:04:55   23 Dominik Nerz (Ger) BMC Racing Team  24 Gianfranco Zilioli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:05:00   25 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:05:10  

Leave a reply
Share on