- - 2014 Tour de San Luis Stage 7

2014 Tour de San Luis Stage 7



Sacha Modolo won the 7th and final stage of the 2014 Tour de Luis in Terrazaz del Portezuelo today, while Nairo Quintana went on to win the overall title.

Modolo sprinted to victory at the end of today’s 148 kilometer stage that departed from the city of it’s namesake – beating Peter Sagan and Maximiliano Richeze. 

Modolo credited his team for his success in the sprint finale.

“Last year, I won with a smaller team; this year, with a big one,” said Modolo. “It makes a lot of difference! I could feel a deep experience. Pozzato just told me, ‘Keep my wheel and take it easy.’ I saw that the Cannondale lead-out was too early in action. I waited for the last moment. Patience was the key.”

Quintana finished the Tour with a 43-second margin over Philip Gaimon, and more than two minutes over third place finisher Sergio Godoy. The Colombian rider described his victory as:

 “An important win when it comes to motivation for the rest of the year.”

“I had a bad day on the opening one with that pain in my stomach, but fortunately, I could get over the day and I recovered from that afterward,” he said. I must thank everyone at the team, because they believed in me from the very first day and protected me all the way to the end of the race.”

Top 25 Finishers 

1 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida 3:13:28   2 Peter Sagan (Svk) Cannondale     3 Maximiliano Ariel Richeze (Arg) Lampre-Merida 4 Mauro Abel Richeze (Arg) Argentina     5 Jens Keukeleire (Bel) Orica Greenedge  6 Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) Trek Factory Racing     7 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 8 Tosh Van Der Sande (Bel) Lotto Belisol  9 Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team 10 Taylor Phinney (USA) BMC Racing Team  11 Edwin Alcibiades Avila (Col) Team Colombia 12 Aidis Kruopis (Ltu) Orica Greenedge  13 Luke Keough (USA) Team Unitedhealthcare  14 Armindo Fonseca (Fra) Bretagne – Seche Environnement  15 Francisco José Ventoso Alberdi (Spa) Movistar Team 16 Marc De Maar (AHo) Team Unitedhealthcare 17 Juan Jose Haedo (Arg) Jamis-Hagens Berman 18 Andrea Peron (Ita) Team Novo Nordisk  19 Leonardo Duque (Col) Team Colombia  20 Miguel Angel Rubiano (Col) Team Colombia   21 Tyler Farrar (USA) Garmin Sharp 0:00:07   22 Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Spa) Movistar Team   23 Lucas Euser (USA) Team Unitedhealthcare  24 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 25 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica Greenedge

Final Standings 

1 Nairo Alexander Quintana Rojas (Col) Movistar Team 24:48:48   2 Phillip Gaimon (USA) Garmin Sharp 0:00:43   3 Sergio Godoy (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos 0:02:02   4 Julian David Arredondo Moreno (Col) Trek Factory Racing 0:02:54   5 Enzo Moyano (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos 0:03:04   6 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne – Seche Environnement 0:03:43   7 Marc De Maar (AHo) Team Unitedhealthcare 0:03:44   8 Peter Stetina (USA) BMC Racing Team 0:03:51   9 Darwin Atapuma Hurtado (Col) BMC Racing Team 0:03:57   10 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 0:04:03   11 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica Greenedge 0:04:35   12 Miguel Angel Rubiano (Col) Team Colombia 0:05:08   13 Lucas Euser (USA) Team Unitedhealthcare 0:06:09   14 Isaac Bolivar (Col) Team Unitedhealthcare 0:06:10 15 Winner Anacona Gomez (Col) Lampre-Merida 0:06:25 16 Christian Meier (Can) Orica Greenedge 0:08:11   17 Haimar Zubeldia Agirre (Spa) Trek Factory Racing 0:08:15   18 Robert Squire (USA) Jamis-Hagens Berman 0:08:27   19 Gianfranco Zilioli (Ita) Androni Giocattoli     20 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Lampre-Merida 0:08:31   21 Cleberson Weber (Bra) Clube Dataro de Ciclismo-Bottecchia 0:09:25  22 Thomas Danielson (USA) Garmin Sharp 0:09:50   23 Michele Scarponi (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:09:56  24 Jurgen Van Den Broeck (Bel) Lotto Belisol 0:10:12   25 Florian Guillou (Fra) Bretagne – Seche Environnement 0:11:29

San Luis 26.01.2014 – 148.1 km Portezuelo Terraces


Leave a reply
Share on