- - 2014 Trofeo Laigueglia

2014 Trofeo Laigueglia

José Serpa of the Lampre-Merida team became the first Colombian rider to win the Italian one-day classic, the Trofeo Laigueglia – by beating Patrick Sinkewitz in a two-up sprint after 181.2 kilometers of racing along Ligurian coast.

“Sinkewitz was the strongest on the climbs but Ulissi behind who could win. The sprint was easy, Sinkewitz was very tired.”

By the summit of the Paravenna, with over 35 kilometers of racing still remaining, they held a 34-second margin over the pursuit.

On the long descent back towards the coast, Serpa and Sinkewitz extended their advantage over the peloton to 1:08 – with 25 kilometers still left to go.

At the base of the descent, the chasing group, which now contained 26 riders, finally began to arrange itself into an organized pursuit, with Cannondale’s Marco Marcato and Davide Villella making the most noticeable efforts to reel in the leaders. Meanwhile, Damiano Cunego and Diego Ulissi sat comfortably in the chase – poised for an attack in the event they managed to catch the escapees. 

However, despite reducing the lingering duo’s lead, the peloton’s attempt to reel them in was unsuccessful. And, with 8 kilometers remaining, Serpa and Sinkewitz remained defiant as they ascended the final climb of the Capo Santa Croce..

In a tense sprint to the finish in Laigueglia, Serpa proved to be too powerful for Sinkewitz to stay onboard with. 

Andrea Pasqualon managed to hold off Sonny Colbrelli and Ulissi and Villella to claim third place. 

Earlier in the Race 

Today’s race was highlighted by a breakaway group containing Robinson Chalapud, Simone Petilli, Songezo Jim and Christophe Laborie, who managed to ride clear on the Balestrino. At one point, the escapees established a lead of almost seven minutes over the field. However, YellowFluo and Team Cannondale began to take up the chase in earnest. And, as the race reached the base of the Parvenna, the escapee’s 105 kilometer reign was brought to an end.

Serpa and Sinkewitz subsequently took up the lead –  and from there the two riders went on to decide the race in Laigueglia.


Trofeo Laigueglia 2014, 181.2km

1. Jose Serpa (Col) Lampre-Merida in 4-42-43
2. Patrik Sinkewitz (Ger) Meridiana Kamen at same time
3. Andrea Paqualon (Ita) Area Zero Pro Team at 12 secs
4. Sonny Colbrelli (Ita) Bardiani-CSF
5. Diego Ulissi (Ita) Lampre-Merida
6. Davide Villella (Ita) Cannondale
7. Matteo Montaguti (Ita) Ag2r La Mondiale
8. Marco Marcato (Ita) Cannondale
9. Matteo Rabottini (Ita) Yellow Fluo
10. Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli at same time

Leave a reply
Share on