- - 2014 US Cycling Cyclocross National Championships

2014 US Cycling Cyclocross National Championships

Jeremy Powers won the 2014 US Cyclocross elite men’s National Championships at Valmont Park in Boulder, Colorado today – after executing a perfect start that left virtually all of his rivals scrambling in his wake. 

Indeed, the Rapha-Focus rider rocketed from the outset of the race – with only Ryan Trebon able to follow. However, not even a powerhouse like Trebon could manage to stay onboard with Powers’ fierce pace. 

“I didn’t plan it, I just went on instinct, and it paid off today,” said Powers.

From that point on, Powers continued to add a few seconds to his lead with each lap. 

Back in the field, Tim Johnson managed to gradually make his way up into third place, while his teammates Allen Krughoff and Jamey Driscoll battle with defending national champion Jonathan Page.

With two laps remaining Powers had increased his lead over Trebon by 25 seconds. In turn, Trebon had established a 45 second gap on Johnson. In the meantime, his teammates managed to shed Page.

Entering into the final lap, Powers held a full half-minute on Trebon, while Johnson followed in third at 1:20 back. And, that’s how today’s race would conclude.

“I wanted to win so bad,” said Powers. “This was a big goal of mine. I came out to Boulder, Colorado, and trained here a lot. This is one of those days I’ll always remember. It was awesome.”

Trebon summed up his race by saying: 

“I rode good,” he added. “Just good enough for second.”

Despite having trouble with this pedals, Johnson said it didn’t effect his performance. 

“I didn’t lose the race by that, but it definitely started off on the wrong foot,” he said.

“Having a perfect start and a perfect race is something you really wish for, but it didn’t happen today.”

USA Cycling Elite Men’s Cyclocross Championships 

1, Jeremy Powers (Rapha-Focus)

2. Ryan Trebon (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld)
3, Tim Johnson (Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld)
4, Jamey Driscoll (Raleigh-Clement)
5, Allen Krughoff (Raleigh-Clement)

Not surprisingly Katie Compton decimated the 111- rider field in the women’s elite race – to win her tenth consecutive US cyclocross national title by a huge margin of 49 seconds.

Elle Anderson spent most of the race chasing Compton in second place – to claim the silver medal, while her teammate Meredith Miller managed work her way up through the field to seize third place from Crystal Anthony.

"It’s crazy," a smiling Compton said of her 10-win nationals streak. "I’m taking one at a time. Today felt really good."

Today’s race unfolded with Anderson taking the "hole shot". However, her lead was shortly lived, as she was soon caught and passed by Compton.

 "It was a great day out there," Anderson said of her third ‘cross nationals. "It’s a real honor to ride with Katie. I gave it my best shot. Katie came steamrolling by me, and kudos to her, because I could not hold her wheel."

With Compton way out in the lead, and Anderson securely  in second, the race became a battle for third between Miller, who had made her way up through the field, and Anthony. 

"With two laps to go I began to believe I could catch her," Miller said. Once she caught Anthony, Miller tucked into the draft when possible. "I was hanging on for a little recovery, and I knew I needed to make her do a little work and bide my time until I came around. And I felt pretty confident that if I came around the last corner in front of her I’d have it."

Following today’s victory, Compton will have little time to rest before heading back to Europe next week to prepare for World Cyclocross Championships in the Netherlands – against non other than Marianne Vos – who once again is the race favorite.   


Elite Women’s Cyclocross Championships

1, Katie Compton (Trek Cyclocross Collective)
2, Elle Anderson (California Giant Berry Farms)
3, Meredith Miller (California Giant Berry Farms)
4, Crystal Anthony (Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies)
5, Georgia Gould (Luna-CHIX)


Leave a reply
Share on