- - 2014 VDK-Driedaagse De Panne-Koksijde Stage 3b

2014 VDK-Driedaagse De Panne-Koksijde Stage 3b

Maciej Bodnar won stage 3b of this year’s Driedaagse De Panne-Koksijde today, after winning today’s individual time trial event. 

The Polish rider set the fastest time of 17:51 around the 14.3 kilometer course in De Panne, ahead of Jan Barta and David Boucher who finished three and six seconds behind the winner. 

Meanwhile, Guillaume Van Keirsbulck claimed the overall victory – wresting the leader’s jersey from teammate Gert Steegmans.

Race Details

Australian Luke Durbridge set the fastest time at the intermediate split, subsequently opaquing Kristijan Koren’s previously fastest time at the midway point. Van Keirsbulck followed with a time that was four seconds down from the leader, which moved him into second position. Bodnar later surpassed the Aussie’s time to claim the stage victory. 

However, Durbridge’s time trial performance was enough to earn him second place in the overall GC, while Steegmans dropped to third place at eight seconds back.

Unfortunately mechanical difficulties befell race favorite Niki Terpstra, who experienced problems when his left pedal came off on the start ramp, which cost him a chance at winning the stage and overall victory. 

This morning’s stage 3a winner, Sacha Modolo, finished too far down in today’s ITT event, to stay in contention for the overall win. 


Top 10 Riders

1Maciej Bodnar (Pol) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:17:51 2Jan Barta (Cze) Team NetApp-Endura0:00:03 3David Boucher (Fra) FDJ0:00:06 4Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge0:00:07 5Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step0:00:11 6Marcel Kittel (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano0:00:13 7Kristijan Koren (Slo) Cannondale Pro Cycling0:00:14 8Johan Le Bon (Fra) FDJ0:00:16 9Sander Cordeel (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Continental Team  10Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Continental Team0:00:25 

Final general classification    

1 Guillaume Van Keirsbulck (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 11:38:16   2 Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge 0:00:07   3 Gert Steegmans (Bel) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:00:08   4 Niki Terpstra (Ned) Omega Pharma-Quick Step 0:00:15   5 Marcel Kittel (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano 0:00:21   6 Vincent Jerome (Fra) Team Europcar 0:00:25   7 Mauro Finetto (Ita) Neri Sottoli 0:00:27   8 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha Team 0:00:32   9 Rob Ruijgh (Ned) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Continental Team 0:00:33   10 Alexander Porsev (Rus) Katusha Team

Leave a reply
Share on