- - 2014 Volta ao Algarve Stage 5

2014 Volta ao Algarve Stage 5

Mark Cavendish won the 5th and final stage of this year’s Volta ao Algarve – beating Arnaud Demare and Bryan Coquard in a sprint finish today. Meanwhile, his teammate Michel Kwiatkowski sealed the overall victory – giving Omega Pharma Quick Step a double win today. 

After withstanding an attack from Albert Contador on the Alto do Malhao yesterday, Kwiatkowski managed to hold onto his 19 second advantage over the Spanish rider at the end of today’s stage –  to secure his overall title. Meanwhile, world champion Rui Costa held onto his third spot on the podium – a further 32 seconds back. 

In addition, the Portuguese rider further pleased his hometown crowd by winning the overall points

classification, while other native riders topped the minor classifications categories – such as Valter Pereira who won the mountains classification and César Fonte who won the intermediate sprint title

Top 20 Finishers 

1 Mark Cavendish (GBr) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team 3:24:10   2 Arnaud Demare (Fra) Fdj.Fr  3 Bryan Coquard (Fra) Team Europcar 4 Jose Joaquin Rojas (Spa) Movistar Team 5 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida  6 Alexey Tsatevitch (Rus) Team Katusha 7 Danilo Napolitano (Ita) Wanty – Groupe Gobert  8 Igor Boev (Rus) Rusvelo  9 Thomas Leezer (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team 10 Yoann Offredo (Fra) Fdj.Fr 11 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team12 Florian Senechal (Fra) Cofidis 13 Juan Lobato (Spa) Movistar Team 14 Daniel Schorn (Aut) Team Netapp – Endura  15 Samuel Caldeira (Por) OFM – Quinta Da Lixa 16 Edgar Pinto (Por) La Aluminios – Antarte  17 Bram Tankink (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team 18 Jorge Montenegro (Arg) Louletano – Dunas Douradas  19 Lucas Haedo (Arg) Skydive Dubai Pro Cycling Team 0 Bjorn Thurau (Ger) Team Europcar

Final general classification

1Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Omega Pharma – Quick-Step Cycling Team16:29:57 2Alberto Contador (Spa) Tinkoff-Saxo0:00:19 3Rui Costa (Por) Lampre-Merida0:00:32 4Alexandre Geniez (Fra) Fdj.Fr0:01:13 5Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Belkin Pro Cycling Team0:01:32 6Ruben Fernandez (Spa) Caja Rural – Seguros RGA0:01:33 7Eduard Prades (Spa) OFM – Quinta Da Lixa0:01:35 8Christopher Horner (USA) Lampre-Merida  9Simon Spilak (Slo) Team Katusha0:01:41 10Edgar Pinto (Por) La Aluminios – Antarte0:01:42 11Sergey Firsanov (Rus) Rusvelo0:01:51 12Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Rusvelo0:01:54 13Ricardo Vilela (Por) OFM – Quinta Da Lixa0:01:56 14Omar Fraile (Spa) Caja Rural – Seguros RGA0:01:57 15Sergei Chernetski (Rus) Team Katusha0:01:59 

Leave a reply
Share on