- - 2018 Vuelta a Espana Route Unveiled

2018 Vuelta a Espana Route Unveiled

Organizers for the Vuelta a Espana unveiled the details of this year’s route today, which will take place between the 25th of August and the 16th of September. The Spanish tour will depart from the Pompidou Centre in Malaga, in another clear example of the organisation’s aim to combine sports, culture and innovative departures.

The race will start with an 8 kilometer individual time trial in the southern port city of Malaga and will spend eight days in the south of Spain before making its way through the mountainous terrain close to the Atlantic coast and heading into the Pyrenees for a decisive final stretch.

The race will conclude in the capital city of Madrid. 

“We want the mountains to be key in deciding the Vuelta,” said race director Javier Guillen.

The Vuelta will also return to Lagos de Covadonga in the Picos de Europa, where Colombian Nairo Quintana took the leader’s red jersey in 2016 before holding it all the way to the end.

After the first stage, the only other time trial will be on the 16th stage, a 32.7 kilometer route from Santillana del Mar to Torrelavega.

The overall winner may not be decided until the penultimate stage in Andorra however, before riders head to Madrid for the traditional finish.

The final stage is only 105.8 kilometers, but finishes atop the Col de la Gallina.

2018 La Vuelta a Espana route

  • August 25: Stage 1 Malaga – Malaga, 8km ITT
  • August 26: Stage 2 Marbella – Caminito del Rey, 163.9km
  • August 27: Stage 3 Mijas – Alhaurin de la Torre, 182.5km
  • August 28: Stage 4 Velez-Malaga – Alfacar, 162km
  • August 29: Stage 5 Granada – Roquetas de Mar, 188km
  • August 30: Stage 6 Huercal-Overa – San Javier, 153km
  • August 31: Stage 7 Puerto Lumbreras – Pozo Alcon, 182km
  • September 1: Stage 8 Linares – Almaden, 195.5km
  • September 2: Stage 9 Talavera de la Reina – La Covatilla, 195km
  • September 3: Rest day
  • September 4: Stage 10 Salamanca – Fermoselle, Bermillo de Sayago, 172.5km
  • September 5: Stage 11 Mombuey – Luintra, 208.8km
  • September 6: Stage 12 Mondonedo – Faro de Estaca de Bares, Manon, 177.5km
  • September 7: Stage 13 Candas – La Camperona, 175.5km
  • September 8: Stage 14 Cistierna – Nava, 167km
  • September 9: Stage 15 Ribera de Arriba – Lagos de Covadonga, 185.5km
  • September 10: Rest day
  • September 11: Stage 16 Santillana del Mar – Torrelavega, 32.7km ITT
  • September 12: Stage 17 Getxo – Balcon de Bizkaia, 166.4km
  • September 13: Stage 18 Ejea de los Caballeros – Lleida, 180.5 km
  • September 14: Stage 19 Lleida – Andorra (Naturlandia), 157km
  • September 15: Stage 20 Escaldes-Engordany (Andorra) – Col de la Gallina, 105.8km
  • September 16: Stage 21 Alcorcon – Madrid, 112km


Leave a reply
Share on