- - Bpost Bank Trofee - GP Sven Nys 2016

Bpost Bank Trofee – GP Sven Nys 2016

photo credits @ Bpost Bank Trofee

Sven Nys didn’t disappoint today, as the veteran cyclocrosser finished 2nd in today’s race bearing his name, the GP Sven Nys.

However, top honors went to Wout Van Aert, who proceeded to ride clear during the second-half of today race, leaving a five man chase group containing Nys, Michael Vanthourenhout, Klaas Vantornout, van der Haar, and Gianni Vermeersch, to chase in earnest. 

Meanwhile, during the penultimate lap, the Telenet-Fidea duo of Corne van Kessel and Toon Aerts succeeded in bridging their way to the chase group, which ultimately became a battle for second place, as Van Wout continued to remain well out front.   

Heading into the final lap, Nys managed to create a slight gap over the chase group, taking Vanthourenhout along with him. But, not long after, the duo were joined by Aerts as well.

From there, Nys decided not to opt for a bike change, but rather forged on, subsequently dropping Vanthournenhout, while Aerts continued to stay onboard.

However, during the sprint for second place, Aerts seemed content with letting Nys clinch the victory over him, as a nod to the former champion. 

In the meantime, Van Aert soloed to victory, crossing the line 1:12 ahead of his rivals.

Top 10 Elite Men

1. Wout van Aert 1.00.40
2. Sven Nys +1.12
3. Toon Aerts +1.14
4. Michael Vanthourenhout +1.17
5. Klaas Vantornout +1.18
6. Gianni Vermeersch +1.20
7. Lars van der Haar
8. Corne van Kessel +1.35
9. Laurens Sweeck +2.00
10. Kevin Pauwels +2.09

Overall standings:

1. Wout Van Aert 6.51.09
2. Kevin Pauwels +6.53
3. Sven Nys +9.24
4. Lars van der Haar +10.33
5. Michael Vanthourenhout +10.49
6. Gianni Vermeersch +11.54
7. Laurens Sweeck +12.28
8. Julien Taramarcaz +13.14
9. Tim Merlier +14.29
10. Tom Meeusen +15.17

In the elite women’s race, Sanne Cant continued her winning ways, after beating fellow Belgian rider Ellen Van Loy by 18 seconds, while Helen Wyman rounded out the podium in third.

Early on, Van Loy took the lead in today’s race, but Cant, along with the help of Wyman, succeeded in chasing her down during the final two laps.  

Van Loy would later crash during the final lap, giving Cant the opportunity she needed to gain a healthy buffer over her rival, and seize the victory.

Top 10 Elite Women

1 Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm – BKCP 0:45:58
2 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:00:18
3 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Team 0:00:47
4 Sophie De Boer (Ned) Kalas-NNOF Cycling Team 0:01:02
5 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) MRM-Avalon Pro Cycling 0:01:06
6 Jolien Verschueren (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:40
7 Loes Sels (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:02:15
8 Elle Anderson (USA) 0:02:33
9 Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) AA Drink-Kalas Cycling Team 0:03:10
10 Mical Dyck (Can) 0:03:26

Leave a reply
Share on