- - Tour de San Luis 2016 Stage 7

Tour de San Luis 2016 Stage 7

photo credits @ Tour de San Luis 

Jakub Mareczko claimed the seventh and final stage of the Tour de San Luis today, after beating teammate Elia Viviani in a sprint finish.

Meanwhile, Dayer Quintana finished safely in the peloton to seal the overall title of this year’s Argentinian race. 

Dayer Quintana (Movistar) wrapped up his first career stage race win at the Tour de San Luis after finishing safely in the pack on a final stage won by Jakub Mareczko.

Quintana took the leader’s green jersey after stage six, where he finished third behind Astana’s Miguel Angel Lopez and his own brother Niro.

Race Highlights 

In the stage seven finale, Etixx-Quick Step and Tinkoff worked hard on the front of the peloton in the final kilometres for Maximiliano Richeze and Peter Sagan respectively.

But Richeze faded fast after hitting the front in the sprint, allowing Mareczko and teammate Elia Viviani to battle it out for the win.

Sagan crossed the line in fourth place having never really contesting the win, with Jason Lowndes (Drapac) completing the podium.

Top 10 Finishers

1 Jakub Mareczko (Ita) Italy 2:36:51
2 Elia Viviani (Ita) Italy
3 Jason Lowndes (Aus) Drapac
4 Peter Sagan (Svk) Tiknoff
5 Max Richeze (Arg) Etixx-QuickStep
6 Mauro Richeze (Arg) San Luis Somos Todos
7 Grega Bole (Slo) Nippo-Vini Fantini
8 Carloe Alzate (Col) UnitedHealthcare
9 Francesco Chicchi (Ita) Androni-Sidermec
10 Julian Paulo Gaday (Arg) Los Matanceros

Final general classification after stage 7

1 Dayer Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 22:52:12
2 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Fortuneo Vital Concept 0:00:20
3 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:35
4 Miguel A. Lopez (Col) Astana Pro Team 0:00:38
5 Ilia Koshevoy (Blr) Lampre-Merida 0:01:42
6 Rodolfo Torres (Col) Androni Giocattoli 0:02:15
7 Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:02:31
8 Janier Acevedo (Col) Team Jamis 0:02:44
9 Roman Villalobos (CRc) Costa Rica 0:02:59
10 Andre Cardoso (Por) Cannondale 0:03:31

Leave a reply
Share on