- - Superprestige - NoordzeeCross Middelkerke 2016

Superprestige – NoordzeeCross Middelkerke 2016


photo credit at NoordzeeCross

Mathieu van der Poel (BKCP-Corendon) claimed the final round of this year’s Superprestige series, after winning the NoordzeeCross in Middelkerke, Belgium, in a solo victory more than 20 seconds ahead of his closest rivals, Tom Meeusen (Telenet Fidea) and Wout Van Aert (Crelan Vastgoedservice).

Race Highlights

Today’s chaotic race, saw everything from Laurens Sweeck snapping his chain at the start, to Van Aert damaging his derailleur during the second lap, causing the world champion to run quite a distance in order to fetch a fresh bike in the pits, while in the aftermath dropping to 30th position.

This in turn put Sven Nys in perfect position to unseat Van Aert in the overall standings. However, the determined young, Belgian rider succeeded in clawing his way back up through the field to secure his victory in the Superprestige series.  

Meanwhile, Nys faded during the final lap, costing the veteran rider his chances at being on the podium for the final race of the series  

Top 10 Elite Men Finishers

1 Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) BKCP-Corendon 1:05:01
2 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:00:22
3 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Crelan-Vastgoedservice Continental 0:00:43
4 Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan AA Drink Team 0:00:49
5 Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:00
6 Lars Van Der Haar (Ned) Team Giant – Alpecin 0:01:20
7 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Marlux – Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:01:39
8 Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:02:03
9 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:02:05
10 Diether Sweeck (Bel) Era Real Estate-Murprotec 0:02:08


Leave a reply
Share on