- - Etoile de Bessèges 2015 Stages 1 & 2

Etoile de Bessèges 2015 Stages 1 & 2

Highlights and results from stages 1 and 2 of this year’s Etoile de Bessèges 

Boeckmans wins stage 1 at Étoile de Bessèges


Top 20 Finishers Stage 1 

1 BOECKMANS Kris Lotto Soudal BEL en 3h25’37” (b : 10”)
2 THEUNS Edward Topsport Vlaanderen –  Baloise BEL (b : 6”)  
3 COLEDAN Marco Trek Factory Racing ITA (b : 4”)
4 GAUTIER Cyril Team Europcar FRA    
5 DUVAL Julien E.C. de l`Armée de Terre FRA   
6 SISKEVICIUS Evaldas Team Marseille 13 KTM LTU   
8 * GOUGEARD Aléxis AG2R la Mondiale FRA   
9 CHETOUT Loïc Cofidis Solutions Crédit FRA   
10 VAN GOETHEM Brian Team Roompot NED   
11 VANENDERT Dennis Lotto Soudal BEL    
12 LIETAER Eliot Topsport Vlaanderen –  Baloise BEL   
13 LIGTHART Pim Lotto Soudal NED    
14 * SARREAU Marc FDJ FRA 17”   
15 PLANCKAERT Baptiste Roubaix Lille Métropole BEL ‘   
16 * GROENEWEGEN Dylan Team Roompot NED ‘   
17 JANS Roy Wanty –  Groupe Gobert BEL ‘  
18 LAPORTE Christophe Cofidis Solutions Crédit FRA ‘   
19 VAN LERBERGHE Bert Topsport Vlaanderen –  Baloise BEL ‘  
20 FEILLU Romain Bretagne –  Séché Environneme FRA ‘

Jans wins second stage of Etoile de Bessèges

Roy Jans (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) won stage 2 of this year’s Etoile de Bessèges today, beating Alexandre Blain (Marseille 13-KTM) and Bob Jungels (Trek) in a crash-marred sprint finish in Les Fumades. The incident involved race leader Kris Boeckmans (Lotto Soudal), who still managed to retain his hold on the leader’s jersey.

Race Highlights 

Riders faced very cold weather conditions during today’s 155 kilometer stage from Nimes to Les Fumades km stage, which saw a small breakaway group containing Thomas Vaubourzeix (Veranclassic-Ekoï), Evaldas Siskevicius (Team Marseille 13-KTM) and Tim Kerkhof (Roompot), get underway early on in the stage. 

From there, the escapees succeeded in establishing a three and half minute over the peloton. But, the fierce weather conditions ultimately caused them to withdraw back into the peloton.  

Indeed, at one point, the weather conditions became so brutal, that the peloton halted during the final lap before the finishing circuit, where race officials advised them to continue, or be ejected from the race.  After some the disagreement, the peloton continued, only to find themselves in pursuit of Kerkhof, who decided to attack once more. 

As the race reached the final climb of the day, Kerkhof was still holding onto a one minute lead. 

Thomas Voeckler (Europcar) then decided to attack, along  with Hugo Houle (AG2R La Mondiale), with both riders quickly catching up with Kerkhof on the descent. 

With only a 20 second gap over the chase, Houle and Voeckler jettisoned their Dutch companion, and set-out on their own. 

However, as the road flattened out, a determined FDJ and Lotto Soudal, succeeded in reeling the duo back during final 10 kilometers. 

From there, FDJ took control of peloton, in what was building up to be a sprint finale. But, a crash in the final few meters ruined both teams’ chances, while Jans seized the opportunity to claim the victory.

Top 10 Finishers

1 Roy Jans (Bel) Wanty – Groupe Gobert    

2 Alexandre Blain (Fra) Team Marseille 13-KTM    

3 Bob Jungels (Lux) Trek Factory Racing    

4 Marco Coledan (Ita) Trek Factory Racing    

5 Yannick Martinez (Fra) Team Europcar    

6 Olivier Chevalier (Bel) Wallonie – Bruxelles    

7 Antoine Demoitie (Bel) Wallonie – Bruxelles    

8 Baptiste Planckaert (Bel) Roubaix Lille Metropole    

9 Edward Theuns (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise    

10 Fabio Silvestre (Por) Trek Factory Racing    

General classification after stage 2    
Kris Boeckmans (Bel) Lotto Soudal

Leave a reply
Share on