- - Women's “La Course by Le Tour” Race Set for Sunday

Women's “La Course by Le Tour” Race Set for Sunday

World class cyclists of the male persuasion, won’t be the only riders racing down the Champs Elysees this Sunday. 

The Amaury Sport Organization (ASO), in cooperation with the UCI, has organized a one-day race aptly named “La Course by Le Tour”.

The women’s 90 kilometer criterium will coincide with the finish of the Tour de France on July 27th, with the women completing 13 laps of the famous brick and paved circuit that travels towards the Arc de Triomphe, down the Champs-Élysées, round les Tuileries and the Louvre and across the Place de la Concorde back to the Champs-Élysées.

Twenty teams comprised of six riders will compete and SRAM RED 22 will be represented by three of the best. The Dutch based Boels Dolmans Cycling team lines up the 2013 Time-Trial World Champion and 2014 Tour of Flanders winner, Ellen van Dijk (NED), and the Silver medalist at the 2012 London Games, Lizzie Armitstead (GBR). Carmen Small, one of the top American riders over the past few years, will lead the Specialized-Lululemon Team along with 2014 German Road and Time-Trial Champion, Lisa Brennauer. The other US based team, Optum p/b Kelly Benefits, will be lead by Leah Kirchmann (CAN) and Gent-Wevegelm winner Lauren Hall (USA). Hall will no doubt have her eyes fixed on a historical sprint victory on the Champs-Elysées.

Who will win?

Marianne Vos (Rabo-Liv), Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans), Kirsten Wild (Giant-Shimano), Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle-Honda) and Shelley Olds (Alé-Cipollini), are a few of the top contenders who come to mind. However, others such as .Jolien d’Hoore (Lotto-Belisol), Australian Chloe Hosking and are good bets as well. 

Leave a reply
Share on