- - Aviva Tour of Britain Announces 2015 Teams

Aviva Tour of Britain Announces 2015 Teams


World’s top teams line-up for the Aviva Tour of Britain this September

Headlining the 20-team list are Team Cannondale Garmin, who won the 2014 Tour of Britain with Dylan Van Baarle and the Etixx Quick-Step team of Mark Cavendish and World Champion Michal Kwiatkowski. Top level British interests are represented by Team Sky.

The other six UCI WorldTeams that will race in the 2.HC ranked Aviva Tour of Britain – the first time the race has been sponsored by Aviva, the largest insurer in the UK – are BMC Racing, IAM Cycling, Lotto Soudal, Movistar Team, Team Lotto NL Jumbo and Tinkoff – Saxo.

Those nine, plus MTN Qhubeka, have been in action in the Tour de France, winning 13 of the 21 stages, and will line-up with six rider squads in Beaumaris on Anglesey for Stage One on Sunday 6 September.

“This is undoubtedly the strongest line-up of teams to have appeared in the Aviva Tour of Britain,” said Mick Bennett, Race Director.

“The Aviva Tour of Britain presents a fantastic opportunity for British fans to see what will be the best line-up of teams and riders to race in this country this year. In 2014 we saw Michal Kwiatkowski, Sir Bradley Wiggins and the BMC Racing Team all go on to win World titles immediately after the race and are sure that this year’s Tour will provide an equal platform for riders going on to target the World Championships.”

Fans of the domestic racing scene will also be able to get behind all six of the country’s UCI Continental teams, including 2015 Pearl Izumi Tour Series Champions Madison Genesis and last year’s Elite Road Series winning squad Team Raleigh GAC, and also cheer on a Great Britain Cycling Team racing on home roads.

Three squads, ONE Pro Cycling, co-owned by former England cricketer Matt Prior, Team WIGGINS, the personal team of World Hour Record holder Sir Bradley Wiggins, and Cult Energy will make their Aviva Tour of Britain debuts this September. They will also be joined by two further UCI ProContinental teams – MTN Qhubeka and Team Novo Nordisk.

Jonny Clay, British Cycling director of cycle sport and membership, said: “Today’s announcement confirms the Tour of Britain as a world-leading event in its class and sets a high standard for cycle sport in this country.

“Sport fans across England, Scotland and Wales can now look forward to seeing some of the best teams in the world on their local roads as the Tour of Britain provides a fantastic finale to the British sporting summer.”

The full list of teams for the Aviva Tour of Britain is as follows:

UCI WorldTeams
• BMC Racing (USA)
• Etixx Quick-Step (Belgium)
• IAM Cycling (Switzerland)
• Lotto Soudal (Belgium)
• Movistar Team (Spain)
• Team Cannondale – Garmin (USA)
• Team Lotto NL Jumbo (Netherlands)
• Team Sky (Great Britain)
• Tinkoff – Saxo (Russia)

UCI Pro Continental teams
• Cult Energy Pro Cycling (Denmark)
• MTN Qhubeka (South Africa)
• Team Novo Nordisk (USA)

UCI Continental teams
• An Post Chain Reaction (Ireland)
• JLT Condor presented by Mavic (Great Britain)
• Madison Genesis (Great Britain)
• NFTO (Great Britain)
• ONE Pro Cycling (Great Britain)
• Team Raleigh GAC (Great Britain)
• Team WIGGINS (Great Britain)

National Teams
• Great Britain Cycling Team

Details of the provisional six rider line-ups for each team will be announced during the coming weeks.

Leave a reply
Share on