- - Challenge Mallorca Trofeo Playa de Palma 2016

Challenge Mallorca Trofeo Playa de Palma 2016

Screen Shot 2016-01-31 at 10.51.38 AM

photo credits @ Challenge Mallorca

André Greipel (Lotto-Soudal) won the fourth and final race at the Challenge Mallorca today, the Trofeo Playa de Palma, marking the German rider’s second victory in this year’s series.

Greipel once again scored a convincing win ahead of Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis) and Dylan Page (Team Roth), in a bunch sprint in the Mallorcan capital of Palma. 

Race Highlights 

The day was animated by a three-man breakaway group containing Omar Fraile (Dimension Data) Luis Mas Bonet (Caja-Rural) and Imanol Estevez (Euskadi), who managed to escape early on in today’s race.

From there, the Spanish trio succeeded in establishing a substantial advantage of seven minutes over the peloton. However, their time in the limelight has brought to a close during the closing 30 kilometers, when the efforts of Lotto-Soudal, Bora-Argon 18, FDJ, Dimension Data and others succeeded in reeling in the escapees.

From that point forward, things proceeded to shape the way for another sprint finale, with Greipel once more bringing the curtains down on his rivals. 

Top 20 Finishers

1 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal 3:50:53
2 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
3 Dylan Page (Swi) Team Roth
4 Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Argon 18
5 Albert Torres (Spa) Spain
6 Jonas Vangenechten (Bel) IAM Cycling
7 Youcef Reguigui (Alg) Dimension Data
8 Ramunas Navardauskas (Ltu) Cannondale Pro Cycling
9 Lorenzo Manzin (Fra) FDJ
10 Marc Sarreau (Fra) FDJ
11 Andrea Pasqualon (Ita) Team Roth
12 Filippo Fortin (Ita) GM Europa Ovini
13 Jay Robert Thomson (RSA) Dimension Data
14 Federico Burchio (Ita) GM Europa Ovini
15 Adrian Gonzalez (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country
16 Mamyr Stash (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo
17 Andrew Fenn (GBr) Team Sky
18 Yves Lampaert (Bel) Etixx – Quick-Step
19 Juan Carlos Riutort (Spa) Burgos BH
20 Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto Soudal

Leave a reply
Share on