- - Challenge Mallorca Trofeo Playa de Palma 2017

Challenge Mallorca Trofeo Playa de Palma 2017


photo credits @ Challenge Mallorca

British rider Daniel McLay won the last in the series of race’s for this year’s Challenge Mallorca today – the Trofeo Palma.

The Fortuneo-Vital Concept rider won the bunch sprint ahead of Matteo Pelucchi (Bora-Hangrohe) and Nacer Bouhanni (Cofidis).

The final of the four events that together form the Challenge Mallorca featured an escape group of five riders with Julio Alberto Amores (Inteja Dominican), Gaspar Mas (Nice), Danilo Celano and Uri Martins (Amore & Vita – Selle SMP) and Euskadi-Murias rider Pello Olaberria who had already been in breakaways in two of the three previous races.

However,once the escapees were caught, Vuelta a España champion Nairo Quintana attacked, subsequently opening up an advantage  of around 1:30 over the peloton.

The Colombian rider was later joined by teammate Alejandro Valverde and Jurgen Roelandts but the help came too late as the three failed to remain outside of the clutches of the fast persuing peloton.

From there, the race came down to a sprint finale, with the finish being so close, a photo finish was needed to determine McLay’s victory ahead of Pelucchi and Bouhanni.

Meanwhile, opening day race winner Andre Greipel (Lotto-Soudal) and his teammate Raymond Kreder completed the top five.


The young McLay had previously finished third in the Trofeo Felanitx-Ses Salines-Campos-Porreres on Thursday.

Top 25 Finishers

1 Daniel Mclay (GBr) Fortuneo-Vital Concept 3:43:31
2 Matteo Pelucchi (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe
3 Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Cofidis, Solutions Credit
4 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
5 Raymond Kreder (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij
6 Coen Vermeltfoort (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij
7 Lukasz Wisniowski (Pol) Team Sky
8 Enrique Sanz (Spa) Spanish Track Team
9 Jonas Koch (Ger) German National Team
10 Alexander Porsev (Rus) Gazprom-Rusvelo
11 Albert Torres (Spa) Inteja Dominican Cycling
12 Xavier Cañellas (Spa) Spanish Track Team
13 Jacob Hennessy (GBr) Great Britain National Team
14 Dylan Page (Swi) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
15 Kondrad Gessner (Ger) German National Team
16 Andre Looij (Ned) Roompot-Nederlandse Loterij
17 Daniel Lopez (Spa) Burgos BH
18 Adrian Gonzalez (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country
19 Vicente Garcia (Spa) Spanish Track Team
20 Christopher Latham (GBr) Great Britain National Team
21 Aritz Bagues (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country
22 Julen Irizar (Spa) Euskadi Basque Country
23 Jorge Arcas (Spa) Movistar Team
24 Samuel Harrison (GBr) Great Britain National Team
25 Jonas Van Geneghten (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions Credit

Leave a reply
Share on