- - Eneco Tour 2015 Stage 7

Eneco Tour 2015 Stage 7

photo credits Eneco Tour

Tim Wellens (Lotto-Soudal) wrapped up his second Eneco Tour title after finishing safely in the peloton, while BMC’s Manuel Quinziato won the 7th and final stage in Geraardsbergen today.

The Finale 

Quinziato succeeded in dispensing his two breakaway companions, Bjorn Leukemans (Wanty-Groupe Gobert) and Yves Lampaert (Ettix-Quick-Step), with an attack along the day’s final climb.  

From there, the Italian rider quickly built up an unassailable lead, that held until the finish.

In the meantime, Leukemans succeeded in pipping Lampaert on the line to claim second place.

Race Highlights

Earlier in the race, a determined chase group attempted to bridge themselves to the breakaway group during the final 40 kilometers, but the high pace set by Lotto-Soudal back in the peloton was quick to reclaim them. 

Up front, the escapees continued to maintain a one minute lead over the peloton. And, with 5 kilometers remaining, Quinziato laid down his final move attack on the last climb, leaving Leukemans and Lampaert struggling in his wake.

Lotto-Soudal’s hard work at the front of the peloton today, ensured that Wellens would seize the overall the title for the second successive year, while teammate Andre Greipel won the points competition.

Top 10 Finishers

1 Manuel Quinziato (Ita) BMC Racing Team 4:18:18
2 Björn Leukemans (Bel) Wanty – Groupe Gobert 0:00:03
3 Yves Lampaert (Bel) Etixx – Quick-Step 0:00:08
4 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 0:00:38
5 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Etixx – Quick-Step
6 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:00:40
7 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Lampre-Merida
8 Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale 0:00:42
9 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team
10 Magnus Cort Nielsen (Den) Orica GreenEdge

Final general classification after stage 7

1 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal 26:31:59
2 Greg Van Avermaet (Bel) BMC Racing Team 0:00:59
3 Wilco Kelderman (Ned) Team LottoNL-Jumbo 0:01:17
4 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) BMC Racing Team 0:01:40
5 Fabio Felline (Ita) Trek Factory Racing 0:01:48
6 Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana Pro Team 0:01:54
7 Michael Rogers (Aus) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:02:02
8 Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:02:11
9 Christopher Juul Jensen (Den) Tinkoff-Saxo
10 Julian Alaphilippe (Fra) Etixx – Quick-Step

Leave a reply
Share on