- - Giro dell'Emilia 2015

Giro dell’Emilia 2015

photo credits @ Giro dell’Emilia 

Jan Bakelants (AG2R La Mondiale) won the Giro dell’Emilia today, after attacking his two breakaway companions during the final climb to San Luca – to claim a solo victory by two seconds over his rivals. 

Race Highlights 

With the exception of a two-rider breakaway group, who managed to get away after 60 kilometers of racing, the peloton came back together during the final 46 kilometers.

From there, riders faced five laps up the San Luca climb to a final finish, wherein Bakelants, Andrea Fedi (Southeast) and Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA), managed to break clear on the third ascent. 

However, Bakelants would later jettison his fellow escapees during the final lap, and go on to a solo victory.

Top 20 Finishers 

1 Jan Bakelants (Bel) AG2R La Mondiale 5:08:17
2 Andrea Fedi (Ita) Southeast Pro Cycling 0:00:02
3 Angel Madrazo Ruiz (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:00:03
4 Damiano Cunego (Ita) Nippo – Vini Fantini 0:00:12
5 Eduard Prades Reverte (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:00:20
6 Jan Polanc (Slo) Lampre-Merida
7 Franco Pellizotti (Ita) Androni Giocattoli 0:00:33
8 Mauro Finetto (Ita) Southeast Pro Cycling 0:00:38
9 Edoardo Zardini (Ita) Bardiani CSF 0:00:48
10 Merhawi Kudus Ghebremedhin (Eri) MTN – Qhubeka 0:01:00
11 Maurits Lammertink (Ned) Team Roompot Oranje Peloton 0:01:08
12 Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka 0:01:28
13 Floris De Tier (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise 0:01:42
14 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 0:01:44
15 Louis Meintjes (RSA) MTN – Qhubeka 0:01:51
16 Matteo Busato (Ita) Southeast Pro Cycling 0:02:01
17 Thomas Sprengers (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise 0:02:09
18 Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
19 Hugh Carthy (GBr) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:02:53
20 Kiryll Pozdnyakov (Rus) RusVelo 0:03:12

In the women’s race, Elisa Longo Borghini came away with the victory ahead of Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (Bigla Pro Cycling) and Amber Neben (Bepink Laclassica).

Borghini attacked Moolman as the duo were clear on the final ascent of the San Luca climb to take the win by five seconds over Moolman, while Neben rounded out the podium in third place – at seven seconds back.

“It was a pretty easy race because there was only the final climb,” Longo Borghini said. “It was 2.2km with a 10 percent average, so it was pretty hard in the final. Ashleigh Moolman did the forcing at the bottom, just tried to go a bit hard to weaken the others a bit…

“Then with 250 meters to go I started my sprint, because I need to start a bit long because I need a harder sprint, and I came first.”

Top 20 Finishers 

1 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Italy 2:29:00
2 Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio (RSA) Bigla Pro Cycling Team 0:00:05
3 Amber Neben (USA) Bepink Laclassica 0:00:07
4 Jolanda Neff (Swi) Servetto Footon 0:00:15
5 Malgorzta Jasinska (Pol) Ale Cipollini 0:00:21
6 Tetiana Riabchenko (Ukr) INPA Sottoli Giusfredi
7 Edwige Pitel (Fra) S.C. Michela Fanini Rox
8 Anna Sanchis Chafer (Spa) Wiggle Honda
9 Yevgeniya Vysotska (Ukr) Servetto Footon 0:00:22
10 Valentina Scandolara (Ita) Italy 0:00:40
11 Elena Cecchini (Ita) Italy
12 Polona Batagelj (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana
13 Elena Kuchinskaya (Rus) Servetto Footon 0:00:41
14 Ursa Pintar (Slo) BTC City Ljubljana 0:00:52
15 Clara Koppenburg (Ger) Bigla Pro Cycling Team 0:00:54
16 Beatrice Rossato (Ita) Ale Cipollini
17 Ewelina Szybiak (Pol) Aromitalia Vaiano
18 Asja Paladin (Ita) Top Girls Fassa Bortolo 0:00:55
19 Sari Saarelainen (Fin) 0:00:56
20 Tatiana Guderzo (Ita) Italy 0:00:58

Leave a reply
Share on