- - Giro d'Italia 2017 Stage 17

Giro d’Italia 2017 Stage 17


photo credits @ Giro d’Italia

Cannondale-Drapac’s Pierre Rolland claimed stage 17 of the Giro d’Italia today, after the French rider attacked form within a 35-rider group with 7.6 kilometers to go, while Rui Costa (UAE Emirates) and Gorka Izagirre (Movistar) rounded out the podium.

Meanwhile, race leader Tom Dumoulin (Sunweb) finished safely in the peloton to maintain his hold on the maglia rosa


Race Highlights

Rolland broke away with Matej Mohoric and Pavel Brutt at the start of today’s stage, and spent virtually the entire race out front, eventually being joined by a leading group of 25, none of whom were in GC contention. Several riders tried to attack, including Rui Costa and Tejay van Garderen, but they could not make it stick.

Rolland then seized his chance and finished 23 seconds ahead of Costa for his first Giro d’Italia stage victory. 

Victory means Rolland is the only active French rider to have won stages on both the Tour de France and Giro. “I’m so happy, I’ve waited for this moment for a long time,” he said. “It’s never easy to manage a big [breakaway] group like today, it’s like a lottery.”



Top 10 Finishers Stage 17 

1 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Cannondale-Drapac 5:42:56
2 Rui Costa (Por) Team UAE Emirates 0:00:24
3 Gorka Izagirre (Spa) Movistar Team
4 Rory Sutherland (Aus) Movistar Team
5 Matteo Busato (Ita) Wilier Triestina
6 Dries Devenyns (Bel) Quick-Step Floors
7 Felix Gro§schartner (Aut) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
8 Omar Fraile (Spa) Dimension Data
9 Michael Woods (Can) Cannondale-Drapac
10 Julien Bernard (Fra) Trek-Segafredo

General Classification after stage 17

1 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb 76:05:38
2 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team 0:00:31
3 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida 0:01:12
4 Thibaut Pinot (Fra) FDJ 0:02:38
5 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Katusha-Alpecin 0:02:48
6 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 0:03:05
7 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo 0:03:49
8 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors 0:04:35
9 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:06:20
10 Jan Polanc (Slo) Team UAE Emirates 0:06:33



Leave a reply
Share on