- - Giro d'Italia 2017 Stage 7

Giro d’Italia 2017 Stage 7


photo credits @ Giro d’Italia 

At long-last, Caleb Ewan (ORICA-Scott) finally earned himself a stage victory in this year’s Giro d’Italia, after nixing Fernando Gaviria (Quick-Step Floors) and Sam Bennett (Bora-Hansgrohe) at the line in Alberobello to claim today’s stage 7.

Meanwhile, Quick-Step’s Bob Jungels finished safely in the peloton to maintain his grip on the overall race lead. 


Race Highlights

Dmitriy Kozontchuk (Gazprom-Rusvelo), Giuseppe Fonzi (Wilier-Triestina) and Simone Ponzi (CCC-Sprandi-Polkowice) formed an early breakaway, with Kozontchuk and Fonzi staying clear until the peloton reeled them in with 18 kilometers to go.

From there, Kristin Koren (Cannondale-Drapac) attempted a solo breakaway with 4 kilometers to go,  but was quickly caught before the sprinters jostled aggressively for position on the downhill run-in to the line, with Ewan stealing a march on his rivals to lead going into the final turn and held on to earn a welcome stage victory.

Jungels maintains his six-second lead over Geraint Thomas in the overall standings after a quiet day for the general classification contenders.

Tomorrow’s stage features a Category 2 climb in the middle of the 189 kilometer route along the Adriatic coast from Moletta to Peschici.



Top 10 Finishers

1 Caleb Ewan (Aus) Orica-Scott 5:35:18
2 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Quick-Step Floors
3 Sam Bennett (Irl) Bora-Hansgrohe
4 André Greipel (Ger) Lotto Soudal
5 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
6 Ryan Gibbons (RSA) Dimension Data
7 Enrico Battaglin (Ita) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 0:00:02
8 Rüdiger Selig (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe
9 Aleksei Tcatevich (Rus) Gazprom – Rusvelo
10 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida

General Classification After Stage 7

1 Bob Jungels (Lux) Quick-Step Floors 33:56:07
2 Geraint Thomas (GBr) Team Sky 0:00:06
3 Adam Yates (GBr) Orica-Scott 0:00:10
4 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Bahrain-Merida
5 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale
6 Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb
7 Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
8 Bauke Mollema (Ned) Trek-Segafredo
9 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team
10 Tejay Van Garderen (USA) BMC Racing Team



Leave a reply
Share on