- - La Flèche Wallonne Feminine 2016

La Flèche Wallonne Feminine 2016

Screen Shot 2016-04-24 at 8.23.24 PM

photo credits @ Flèche Wallonne

Anna van der Breggen (Rabo-Liv) won the women’s Flèche Wallonne today, after riding clear of her closest rival, Evelyn Stevens (Boels-Dolmans), during the final ascent of the steep Mur de Huy, to capture the victory. 

Meanwhile, Stevens’ Boels-Dolmans teammate and fellow American, Megan Guarnier, took third spot on the podium, after finishing 14 seconds behind the winner. 

Today’s win marked van der Breggen’s second consecutive victory in Flèche Wallonne, as well as her first major win of the year.

Earlier Highlights

The three leaders emerged from a five-rider breakaway group that came together during the final 10 kilometers, after lone attacker Carmen Small (Cervelo-Bigla) had been reeled in.

Additionally, Marianne Vos (Rabo-Liv) marked her return to racing with a ninth place finish, while World champion and WorldTour leader Lizzie Armitstead (Boels-Dolmans) finished well back in 28th place.




Top 20 Riders

1 Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 3:50:36
2 Evelyn Stevens (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 0:00:08
3 Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam 0:00:22
4 Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 0:00:23
5 Elisa Longo Borghini (Ita) Wiggle High5 0:00:25
6 Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Canyon SRAM Racing 0:00:38
7 Emma Johansson (Swe) Wiggle High5 0:00:43
8 Katrin Garfoot (Aus) Orica-AIS 0:00:45
9 Marianne Vos (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 0:00:48
10 Jolanda Neff (Swi) Servetto Footon
11 Claudia Lichtenberg (Ger) Lotto Soudal Ladies 0:00:53
12 Carmen Small (USA) Cervelo Bigla Pro Cycling Team
13 Malgorzta Jasinska (Pol) Ale’ Cipollini 0:00:55
14 Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Orica-AIS 0:00:58
15 Rachel Neylan (Aus) Orica-AIS
16 Ane Santesteban Gonzalez (Spa) Ale’ Cipollini 0:01:00
17 Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Boels Dolmans Cyclingteam
18 Janneke Ensing (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team
19 Elena Cecchini (Ita) Canyon SRAM Racing 0:01:03
20 Anna Plichat (Pol) BTC City Ljubljana 0:01:09


Leave a reply
Share on