- - Paris-Roubaix 2017 Teams Announced

Paris-Roubaix 2017 Teams Announced


Organizers for the 2017 Paris-Roubaix, announced the teams that will take part in this year’s cobbled-classic.

In addition to the 18 WorldTour team that were awarded automatic invitations, 7 teams were also granted wildcard spots to compete in the infamous Hell of the North race.   

World tour teams

A2gr La Mondiale (Fra)
Astana Pro Team (Kaz)
Bahrain-Merida (Bhr)
BMC Racing Team (USA)
Bora-Hansgrohe (Ger)
Cannondale-Drapac (USA)
FDJ (Fra)
Lotto Soudal (Bel)
Movistar Team (Spa)
Orica-Scott (Aus)
Quick-Step Floors (Bel)
Team Dimension Data (RSA)
Team Katusha-Alpecin (Sui)
Team Lotto NL-Jumbo (Ned)
Team Sky (GBr)
Team Sunweb (Ger)
Trek-Segafredo (USA)
UAE Abu Dhabi (UAE)

Pro Continental wildcard teams

Cofidis, Solutions Crédits (Fra)
Delko Marseille Provence KTM (Fra)
Direct Energie (Fra)
Fortuneo-Vital Concept (Fra)
Roompot Nederlandse Loterij (Ned)
Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise (Bel)
Wanty-Groupe Gobert (Bel)

Date: Sunday 9th April
Start: (North of) Paris
Finish: Vélodrome André-Pétrieux, Roubaix
Distance: 260km
Cobbles: 52.8km


Paris-Roubaix 2017 route

The 2017 Paris-Roubaix route has been confirmed and this year will contain 29 cobbled sectors totaling 55 kilometers, over a total race distance of 257 kilometers. 

The three most anticipated sectors Tranchée d’Arenberg, Mons-en-Pévèle and the Carrefour de l’Arbre are all included. However, there are also changes from previous years in that two new additions, Briastre and Solesmes, will appear as sector 25 and 26 near the start of the race. It is the first time they have been used since 1987.

‘The first is three kilometers long, it is actually being renovated but it is one of the difficult sectors,’ said route designer Thierry Gouvenou of Briastre.

‘The next is a lot shorter, however it is uphill. It is not our wish to make the race harder at this stage, but to find more diversity between the cobblestone sectors and make sure these areas continue to feed the legend.’

Paris-Roubaix: Recent winners
2016: Mathew Hayman (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge
2015: John Degenkolb (Ger) Giant-Alpecin
2014: Niki Terpstra (Ned) Etixx-QuickStep
2013: Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack
2012: Tom Boonen (Bel) Omega Pharma-QuickStep
2011: Johan Vansummeren (Bel) Garmin-Cervelo
2010: Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Saxo Bank
2009: Tom Boonen (Bel) QuickStep
2008: Tom Boonen (Bel) QuickStep
2007: Stuart O’Grady (Aus) Team CSC
2006: Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Team CSC

Paris-Roubaix: The 2016 result
1. Mathew Hayman (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge, 5-51-53
2. Tom Boonen (Bel) Etixx-QuickStep, st
3. Ian Stannard (GBr) Team Sky, st
4. Sep Vanmarcke (Bel) LottoNL-Jumbo), st
5. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) Dimension Data, at 3s
6. Heinrich Haussler (Aus) IAM Cycling, at 1-00
7. Marcel Sieberg (Ger) Lotto-Soudal, st
8. Aleksejs Saramotins (Lat) IAM Cycling, st
9. Imanol Erviti (Esp) Movistar, at 1-07
10. Adrien Petit (Fra) Direct Energie, 2-20



Leave a reply
Share on