- - Primož Roglič Wins 2020 Vélo d’Or Prize

Primož Roglič Wins 2020 Vélo d’Or Prize

Primož Roglič has won the coveted Vélo d’Or for 2020, beating some of the biggest names currently riding in the sport, taking the title away from Julian Alaphilippe who won in 2019.

Roglič (Jumbo-Visma) had an incredible season, especially considering how all over the place it was. While he lost the lead of the Tour de France on the penultimate day, he won Liège-Bastogne-Liège and then his second Vuelta a España.  The Jumbo-Visma captain also won the Tour de l’Ain.

“I went through the list of previous winners, it’s really a great reward,” Roglič told L’Equipe. “I take this opportunity to say a big thank you to the people who voted for me. I understood that it was a jury of journalists from all over the world, and that’s why it really touches me.”

Others nominated for the award were Tour de France champion, Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates), who was automatically nominated because of his win

Wout van Aert (Jumbo-Visma) and Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Fenix) were both on the list thanks to both riders having another superb season.

Others nominated for the award were Remco Evenepoel and Tour green jersey winner Sam Bennett from Deceuninck – Quick-Step, along with world champion, Julian Alaphilippe.

World time trial champion, Filippo Ganna and surprise Giro d’Italia winner Tao Geoghegan Hart from the Ineos Grenadiers also made the list after their amazing displays in Italy, while the final four spots went to multiple Tour stage winner Caleb Ewan (Lotto-Soudal), Il Lombardia winner Jakob Fuglsang (Astana), Flèche Wallonne winner Marc Hirschi (Team Sunweb) and Dauphiné winner Daniel Martínez (EF Pro Cycling).

The annual prize is selected by a panel of international journalists via the French cycling magazine Vélo, which is considered one of cycling’s most prestigious awards.


Leave a reply
Share on