- - RideLondon 2015 Grand Prix

RideLondon 2015 Grand Prix

photo credits @ RideLondon Facebook

Italian Barbara Guarischi Wins RideLondon Grand Prix

Barbara Guarischi (Velocio Sports) claimed this year’s Prudential RideLondon Gan Prix yesterday. 

The Italian rider managed to nix Ale Cipollini duo Shelley Olds and Annalisa Cucinotta on the line – in a reduced bunch sprint.

Guarsichi, who had never competed in the race before, said: “This race was not in my program – I only knew that I would be riding it on Monday. I said ‘oh, really? I’m ready!’

“I only got to my hotel at 2pm today, too! And tomorrow I ride the World Cup race in Germany, the Sparkassen Giro!

Despite the much-anticipated attacks on the flat circuit around central London, one notably involving former world number one Emma Johansson (Orica-AIS), the race came down to a bunch sprint for the third time in as many editions.

Helped by a strong lead-out by team-mate and world time trial champion Lisa Brennaeur, Guarsichi was able to stay well placed and only had to start her sprint in the final 150 meters.

“The team were super today – every time we race we ride together, we are really strong together. It’s impossible to win without the team,” Guarsichi added.

Top 25 Finishers 

1 Barbara Guarischi (Velocio Sports) 0:45:08
2 Shelley Olds (Ale Cipolinni)
3 Annalisa Cucinotta (Ale Cipolinni)
4 Annette Edmondson (Wiggle Honda)
5 Giorgia Bronzini (Wiggle Honda)
6 Katie Archibald (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International) 0:00:01
7 Emma Johansen (Orica AIS)
8 Laura Trott (Matrix Pro Cycling)
9 Eileen Roe (Wiggle Honda) 0:00:02
10 Edita Janeliunaite (APRIRE Bicycles / HSS Hire)
11 Marta Tagliaferro (Ale Cipolinni)
12 Grace Garner (Great Britain Olympic Development Programme) 0:00:03
13 Eleanor Dickinson (Great Britain Olympic Development Programme) 0:00:05
14 Emily Kay (Team USN) 0:00:06
15 Kim le Court (Matrix Pro Cycling)
16 Trixi Worrack (Velocio Sports)
17 Clemence Copie (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International) 0:00:07
18 Gabriella Shaw (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International)
19 Rebecca Nixon (FusionRTGearclub/Bikescience)
20 Nicola Juniper (Team Giordand Triton)
21 Abby Mae Parkinson (Great Britain Olympic Development Programme)
22 Keira Mcvitty (Team Giordana Triton) 0:00:08
23 Annasley Park (Team Giordana Triton)
24 Abi Van Twisk (Corley Cycles | Drops RT)
25 Lauren Creamer (Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International)

Leave a reply
Share on