- - Scheldeprijs 2015

Scheldeprijs 2015

photo credits @ Sporza/Twitter

Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) continued his winning ways today, after claiming this year’s semi-classic, Scheldeprijs, by outsprinting Edward Theuns (Topsport) and Yauheni Hutarovich (Bretagne-Séché Environnement).

Race Highlights

Today’s race was marred by a massive crash inside the final two kilometers, causing chaos and blockage for a majority of riders.

However, Kristoff was able to emerge from the carnage to execute one of his signature sprints during the final 150 meters to follow on his success of last weekend’s Tour of Flanders victory.

Indeed, despite being isolated from his team during the final two kilometers, the Norwegian rider managed to position himself perfectly behind the lead-out train of FDJ, before unleashing a final surge for the finish.

Top 10 Finishers 

1 Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Team Katusha
2 Edward Theuns (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise
3 Yauheni Hutarovich (Blr) Bretagne-Séché Environnement
4 Marc Sarreau (Fra)
5 Danny Van Poppel (Ned) Trek Factory Racing
6 Matteo Trentin (Ita) Etixx – Quick-Step
7 Nicolas Marini (Ita) Nippo – Vini Fantini
8 Michael Van Staeyen (Bel) Cofidis, Solutions Credits
9 Tyler Farrar (USA) MTN – Qhubeka
10 Christoph Pfingsten (Ger) Bora-Argon 18

Leave a reply
Share on