- - Superprestige Asper-Gavere 2015 Elite Men

Superprestige Asper–Gavere 2015 Elite Men

After two disappointing second place finishes last weekend, Wout van Aert (Vastgoedservice) returned to his winning ways today, after emerging victorious in the fourth round of the Superprestige series in Gavere.

Van Aert launched a powerful attack during the sixth lap, quickly distancing his closest rivals, Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb), Sven Nys (Crelan) and Lars van der Haar (Giant-Alpecin), which ultimately led to another solo victory for the young Belgian rider. 

Meanwhile, Nys beat Pauwels in the battle for second place, with last weekend’s Superprestige winner, Kevin Pauwels taking fourth. 

Van Aert made his move during the final three laps, subsequently dropping the lead group which included the eventual top finishers, Nys, Pauwels and van der Haar. 

However, despite a valiant attempt on the part of Nys and Pauwels, they failed to make up lost ground on Van Aert, while van der Haar found himself distanced from the leaders. 

From there, Van Aert rode with conviction for the final laps, crossing the finish 18 seconds ahead of Nys, who managed to outsprint Pauwels for second.

photo credit @ Sporza/Twitter 

Top 10 Finishers Elite Men
1. Wout van Aert
2. Sven Nys
3. Kevin Pauwels
4. Lars van der Haar
5. Laurens Sweeck
6. Klaas Vantornout
7. Michael Vanthourenhout
8. Tim Merlier
9. Rob Peeters
10. Michael Boros

Overall standings after round 4:
1. Wout van Aert 59
2. Sven Nys 51
3. Kevin Pauwels 50
4. Lars van der Haar 47
5. Klaas Vantornout 33
6. Laurens Sweeck 33
7. Rob Peeters 28
8. Tim Merlier 27
9. Tom Meeusen 17
10 Corne van Kessel 15



Leave a reply
Share on