- - Superprestige Spa-Francorchamps 2015

Superprestige Spa-Francorchamps 2015

photo credits @ Hansgrohe

Highlights from the Elite Men’s and Women’s Superprestige Spa-Francorchamps 2015

Wout van Aert completed a perfect weekend in his usual dominant style, after riding to a convincing solo victory in today’s Superprestige cyclocross race along the motor circuit in Spa-Francorchamps.

The young Belgian rider was in a class of his own along today’s muddy, hilly circuit – once again beating Sven Nys by more than a minute, while Kevin Pauwels completed the podium in third.

As result of today’s victory, Van Aert also extended his overall lead in the Superprestige series to 74 points.

“I really can’t expect more,” said Van Aert. “I am very happy with this victory. These are the courses that I can handle best.

Top 10 Men

1. Wout van Aert
2. Sven Nys +1.04
3. Kevin Pauwels +1.13
4. Klaas Vantornout +1.16
5. Corne van Kessel +1.29
6. Toon Aerts +1.30
7. Thijs van Amerongen +1.33
8. Lars van der Haar +1.42
9. Tom Meeusen +2.09
10. Tim Merlier +2.46

Overall standings:
1. Wout van Aert 74
2. Sven Nys 65
3. Kevin Pauwels 63
4. Lars van der Haar 55
5. Klaas Vantornout 45
6. Laurens Sweeck 38
7. Tim Merlier 33
8. Rob Peeters 28
9. Corne van Kessel 26
10. Tom Meeusen 24

Helen Wyman (Kona) won the fifth round of the elite women’s Superprestige cyclocross series on the F1 circuit at Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium today, after beating fellow British rider Nikki Harris (Young Telenet-Fidea) by 8 seconds, followed by Dutch rider Sanne van Paassen, who crossed the finish nearly half a minute behind.

“My start was not so good, but today I was very patient,” said Wyman. “This was such a tough race. Unbelievable.”

Top 20 Women

1 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Team 0:38:32
2 Nikki Harris (GBr) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:00:08
3 Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:00:24
4 Christine Majerus (Fra) 0:00:48
5 Jolien Verschueren (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:02
6 Elle Anderson (USA) 0:01:11
7 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:46
8 Femke Van Den Driessche (Bel) VZW Lotto-Ladiescycling 0:02:26
9 Loes Sels (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:03:09
10 Maud Kaptheijns (Ned) AA Drink-Kalas Cycling Team 0:03:24
11 Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Kleur Op Maat cyclingteam 0:03:46
12 Asa Maria Erlandsson (Swe) 0:03:56
13 Bianca Van Den Hoek (Ned) 0:04:10
14 Julia Boschker (Ned) 0:05:45
15 Inge Van Der Heijden (Ned) 0:06:28
16 Eva Maria Palm (Bel) 0:07:04
17 Senna Feron (Ned) WV Zwee 0:09:40
18 Mara Schwager (Ger) -1 Lap
19 Marlies Beckers (Bel) B-Cycle Team
20 Julia Nikolopoulos (Ger)

Leave a reply
Share on