- - Tour of Croatia 2016 Stage 5

Tour of Croatia 2016 Stage 5

Tour of Croatia 2016 - 5a tappa Pore? - Umag 40,3 km - 23/04/2016 - Tinkoff - foto Dario Belingheri/BettiniPhoto©2016

photo credits @ Tinkoff

Despite a late crash involving Juraj Sagan, Tinkoff came out on top in today’s team time trial at the Tour of Croatia.

Jesper Hansen led the Russian team over the line in a time of 49:36 with Gazprom-RusVelo finishing four seconds back. CCC Sprandi Polkowice rounded out the top three, a further six second down.

At the finish Ivan Basso praised the efforts of the Tinkoff team.

“The guys paced it well and had to take care as the conditions were tough on the wet roads. We were trying to stay safe but in the late push for the line Juraj Sagan came down but he’s fine and doesn’t have any problems.

“It was a fantastic day – when you win a team time trial it’s a present for not only the riders, but the staff and the whole team. I’ve been saying all week how good the team spirit is here and it was a real collective effort today.”

Meanwhile, Synergy Baku finished well enough to keep Matija Kvasina in the overall race lead, 32 seconds ahead of both Jesper Hansen (Tinkoff) and Victor de la Parte (CCC).

However, things did not go well for Riccardo Zoidl, who came into today’s stage second in the general classification, and 19 seconds down on  Kvasina, as his Trek-Segafredo team failed to mount a serious challenge, especially after he fell off the back during the closing kilometers of today’s time trial. 

As a result, the Austrian rider dropped to seventh place in the overall GC.


Team Time Trial 

1 Tinkoff 0:49:36
2 Gazprom-Rusvelo 0:00:04
3 CCC Sprandi Polkowice 0:00:10
4 Synergy Baku Cycling Project 0:00:31
5 ONE Pro Cycling 0:00:42
6 Veranda’s Willems Cycling Team 0:00:58
7 Cyclingteam Join-S / De Rijke 0:01:13
8 Dimension Data 0:01:19
9 Adria Mobil 0:01:29
10 Verva ActiveJet Pro Cycling Team 0:02:00
11 Team WIGGINS 0:02:13
12 Trek-Segafredo 0:02:21
13 Team Felbermayr Simplon Wels 0:02:38
14 Cycling Academy Team 0:03:08
15 Team Novo Nordisk
16 Astana Pro Team 0:03:15
17 IAM Cycling 0:03:16
18 Meridiana Kamen Team 0:03:29
19 Androni Giocattoli – Sidermec 0:03:37
20 Radenska – Ljubljana 0:03:54
21 Bardiani CSF 0:04:00

General classification after stage 5

1 Matija Kvasina (Cro) Synergy Baku Cycling Project 19:43:58
2 Jesper Hansen (Den) Tinkoff Team 0:00:32
3 Víctor De La Parte (Spa) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
4 Felix Grosschartner (Aut) CCC Sprandi Polkowice 0:00:55
5 Radoslav Rogina (Cro) Adria Mobil 0:01:24
6 Domen Novak (Slo) Adria Mobil 0:01:55
7 Riccardo Zoidl (Aut) Trek-Segafredo 0:02:09
8 Kirill Pozdnyakov (Rus) Synergy Baku Cycling Project 0:02:19
9 Markus Eibegger (Aut) Team Felbermayr – Simplon Wels 0:03:40
10 Scott Davies (GBr) Team WIGGINS 0:03:46
11 Daniel Pearson (GBr) Team WIGGINS 0:03:58
12 Julian Arredondo (Col) Trek-Segafredo 0:04:00
13 Jordi Simon (Spa) Verva ActiveJet Pro Cycling Team 0:04:05
14 Richard Handley (GBr) ONE Pro Cycling 0:05:16
15 Maksym Averin (Aze) Synergy Baku Cycling Project 0:05:23
16 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Tinkoff Team 0:05:47
17 Emanuel Kiserlovski (Cro) Meridiana Kamen Team 0:06:28
18 Marko Pavlic (Slo) Cycling Academy Team 0:06:45
19 Brecht Dhaene (Bel) Veranda’s Willems Cycling Team 0:07:06
20 Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani CSF 0:07:09



Leave a reply
Share on