- - Tour de Suisse 2016 Stage 2

Tour de Suisse 2016 Stage 2


photo credits @ Tour de Suisse

Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) clinched the victory in stage 2 of the Tour de Suisse today, after beating Maximiliano Richeze (Etixx – Quick-Step) and Michael Matthews (Orica-GreenEdge) in a sprint finish along a rain-soaked cirusuit in Baar.

A vigilant Sagan sat poised during the closing few hundred meters, marking Matthews and his Orica-GreenEdge team’s every move, subsequently nixing any chances of the Australian rider getting a jump on him.

Meanwhile, a split in the peloton saw Fernando Gaviria (Etixx-QuickStep) get left behind, leaving his leadout man Max Richeze to battle it out against the world champion for second place. 

In the meantime, given his fifth place finish back in the peloton, Jurgen Roelandts (Lotto Soudal) was awarded the same time as Sagan, and consequently wrested the leader’s jersey from Fabian Cancellara (Trek-Segafredo), who won yesterday’s opening prologue.



Top 10 Finishers

1 Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff Team 4:35:19
2 Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Etixx – Quick-Step
3 Michael Matthews (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge
4 Magnus Cort Nielsen (Den) Orica-GreenEdge
5 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Soudal
6 Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
7 Danny Van Poppel (Ned) Team Sky 0:00:03
8 Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Dimension Data
9 Sven Erik Bystrøm (Nor) Team Katusha
10 Tom Van Asbroeck (Bel) Team LottoNl-Jumbo

General classification after stage 2

1 Jurgen Roelandts (Bel) Lotto Soudal 4:42:56
2 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) Trek-Segafredo 0:00:01
3 Luke Durbridge (Aus) Orica-GreenEdge 0:00:06
4 Peter Sagan (Svk) Tinkoff Team 0:00:10
5 Martin Elmiger (Swi) IAM Cycling
6 Jon Izaguirre (Spa) Movistar Team
7 Tim Wellens (Bel) Lotto Soudal 0:00:11
8 Johan Le Bon (Fra) FDJ 0:00:13
9 Silvan Dillier (Swi) BMC Racing Team
10 Gorka Izaguirre (Spa) Movistar Team 0:00:14



Leave a reply
Share on