- - Tour of Britain 2015 Stage 6

Tour of Britain 2015 Stage 6

photo credits @ British Cycling 

Etixx-Quick Step’s Matteo Trentin won stage 6 of the Tour of Britain in Nottingham today.

The Italian rider, who spent the day in the stage’s breakaway group, proved to be too strong for MTN-Qhubeka’s Edvald Boasson Hagen in a sprint, after the Norwegian had joined Trentin at the front of the race during the final three kilometers.

Nevertheless, Boasson Hagen’s attack was rewarded, as he extended his lead in the overall classification to 13 seconds ahead of Team Sky’s Wout Poels.

Race Highlights

Trentin, along with Cannondale-Garmin’s Sebastian Langeveld, Lotto-Soudal’s Jens Debusschere, LottoNL-Jumbo’s Bram Tankink and Movistar’s Gorka Izagirre, managed to escape early on in today’s stage. And, from there, went on to establish around a one minute advantage over the peloton. 

However, with just over seven kilometers remaining, the escapees were caught, as Team Sky applied the pressure within the peloton. 

From there, Trentin attacked while  sitting on Boasson Hagen’s wheel – quickly passing him during the final moments to claim the victory.

Tour of Britain, stage five: Stoke-on-Trent – Nottingham (192.7km)
1. Matteo Trentin (Ita) Etixx-Quick Step, 4-45-27
2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) MTN-Qhubeka, st
3. Owain Doull (GBr) Team Wiggins, at 4s
4. Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step
5. Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto-Soudal
6. Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Cannondale-Garmin
7. Alex Peters (GBr) Great Britain
8. Dylan Theuns (Bel) BMC
9. Xandro Meurisse (Bel) An Post-Chain Reaction
10. Wouter Poels (Ned) Team Sky, all same time

Overall classification after stage six
1. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) MTN-Qhubeka, in 27-47-54
2. Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky, at 13s
3. Rasmus Guldhammer (Den) Cult Energy, at 43s
4. Owain Doull (GBr) Team Wiggins, at 44s
5. Dylan Teuns (Bel) BMC, at 51s
6. Zdenek Stybar (Cze) Etixx – Quick-Step
7. Ruben Fernandez (Esp) Movistar
8. Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) LottoNL-Jumbo
9. Xandro Meurisse (Bel) An Post-Chain Reaction
10. Chris Anker Sorensen (Den) Tinkoff-Saxo, all same time

Leave a reply
Share on