- - Tour of Turkey 2015 Stage 5

Tour of Turkey 2015 Stage 5

photo credits @ Tour of Turkey

Sacha Modolo (Lampre-Merida) won stage 5 of this year’s Tour of Turkey, in a sprint finish in Pamukkale today.

The Italian rider commenced a late attack, that proved strong enough to nix Carlos Barbero (Caja Rural), Jay McCarthy (Tinkoff-Saxo) and Michal Kolar (Tinkoff-Saxo), by half a wheel length.

Meanwhile, race leader Davide Rebellin (CCC Sprandi) finished safely the peloton to defend his overall race lead.

“I’ve had a lot of placings and so I need this win,” Modolo said. “I always want to win and after the good work I did before the season, I thought I’d get some results. Fortunately it seems my moment is coming now, at the most important moment of the season, ready for the Giro d’Italia.”

“The finish suited me, it was about speed and power on the rising finish. I knew it was a massive chance for me and that I had to take it. I’m happy to have won here in Turkey because it’s a race I like. I’ve been coming since 2010, since I turned professional. Last year I had to pull out of the race after struggling with an injury picked up in Paris-Roubaix but I’m here to do well this year. The other day I was second (behind Cavendish) but I could have won, so things are going well.”

Race Highlights  

Absent from today’s stage, was yesterday’s winner, Andre Greipel (Lotto Soudal), who did not start, instead preferring to rest up for Giro d’Italia, which starts in a little more than a week.

The first breakaway group of the day containing Thomas De Gendt (Lotto Soudal), Alessandro Bazzana (UnitedHealthcare) and Frederick Veuchelen (Wanty Groupe Gobert), had little impact on the race, as CCC Sprandi kept things under control in the interest of protecting their race leader – Davide Rebellin.

However, another breakaway attempt occurred later on, this time involving Sean De Bie (Lotto Soudal), Damien Howson (Orica GreenEdge), Davide Appollonio (Androni – Sidermec), Frederic Brun (Bretagne – Séché Environnement), Roberto Ferrari (Lampre – Merida), Natnael Berhane (MTN – Qhubeka), Songezo Jim (MTN – Qhubeka), Jef Van Meirhaeghe (Topsport Vlaanderen – Baloise) and Ahmet Akdile (Torku Şekerspor), but just there predecessors were reeled in, so too were they during the final climb and run into Pamukkale.

From there, a flurry of attacks got underway at the head of the peloton during the final 5 kilometers, with only McCarthy managing to eventually get clear. But, the curtains were quickly brought down on the Australian rider’s attempt, who was soon caught and passed by Modolo and the others during the final 20 meters.

Top 10 Finishers 

1 Sacha Modolo (Ita) Lampre-Merida 4:06:19
2 Carlos Barbero Cuesta (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
3 Jay McCarthy (Aus) Tinkoff-Saxo
4 Michal Kolar (Svk) Tinkoff-Saxo
5 Manuel Belletti (Ita) Southeast
6 Jasper De Buyst (Bel) Lotto Soudal
7 Eduard Prades Reverte (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA
8 Daniele Ratto (Ita) UnitedHealthcare
9 Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Sprandi Polkowice
10 Pello Bilbao Lopez (Spa) Caja Rural-Seguros RGA

General classification

1 Davide Rebellin (Ita) CCC Sprandi Polkowice 19:42:08 
2 Kristijan Durasek (Cro) Lampre-Merida 0:00:22
3 Eduardo Sepulveda (Arg) Bretagne-Séché Environnement 0:00:54
4 Jay Mccarthy (Aus) Tinkoff-Saxo 0:01:20
5 Serge Pauwels (Bel) MTN – Qhubeka 0:01:38
6 Enrico Barbin (Ita) Bardiani CSF 0:01:39
7 Daniele Ratto (Ita) UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling 0:01:42
8 Alex Cano Ardila (Col) Colombia 0:01:56
9 Mirko Selvaggi (Ita) Wanty – Groupe Gobert 0:02:11
10 Adam Hansen (Aus) Lotto Soudal 0:02:12

Leave a reply
Share on