- - Vlaamse Druivencross Overijse 2015

Vlaamse Druivencross Overijse 2015

photo credits @

Highlights from Today’s Elite Men’s and Women’s Vlaamse Druivencross Overijse 2015

Mathieu van der Poel got his revenge after his big disappointment in yesterday’s Bpost Bank Trofee race in Essen when he claimed a dominant first win of the season at the Druivencross in Overijse.

The world champion bounced back from more bad luck when he unclipped at the start and dropped his chain while leading the race, ultimately distancing Kevin Pauwels and Tom Meeusen who completed the podium.

Top 10 Finishers Elite Men

1 Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Bkcp-Corendon 1:03:01
2 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb Napoleon Games Cycling 0:00:19
3 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:00:35
4 Tim Merlier (Bel) Vastgoedservice Golden Palace 0:00:44
5 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb Napoleon Games Cycling 0:00:48
6 Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Sunweb Napoleon Games Cycling 0:01:15
7 Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb Napoleon Games Cycling 0:01:42
8 Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:51
9 Marcel Meisen (Ger) Corendon-Kwadro 0:02:00
10 Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:02:08

Jolien Verschueren had a lot the to celebrate today, after winning the elite women’s Vlaamse Druivencross cyclocross race in Overijse, Belgium. 

The young Belgian rider triumphed over Helen Wyman (Kona Factory Racing), who led for several laps in today race, before losing ground to Verschueren.

Meanwhile, Verschueren’s Telenet-Fidea teammate Nikki Harris rounded out the podium, after nixing a rapidly approaching Sanne Cant, who experienced a last minute mechanical problem. 

Top 10 Finishers Elite Women 

1 Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Te 0:41:07
2 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Racing Team 0:00:14
3 Nikki Harris (GBr) Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Te 0:00:29
4 Sanne Cant (Bel) Team Ciclismo Mundial 0:00:38
5 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Te 0:00:59
6 Sophie De Boer (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continent 0:01:23
7 Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:01:43
8 Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) Kleur Op Maat – Corpellets – S 0:02:25
9 Joyce Vanderbeken (Bel) Wielerteam Decock-Van Eyck-Dev 0:02:47
10 Nikola Noskova (Cze) Aa-Drink-Kalas Team 0:02:58

Leave a reply
Share on