- - Vuelta a Espana 2016 Teams Announced

Vuelta a Espana 2016 Teams Announced


Organizers for the Vuelta a Espana, the Amaury Sport Organization (ASO), has announced the 22 teams that will participate in this year’s Spanish Grand Tour.

Alongside the 18 WorldTour teams, who receive automatic invitations, Bora-Argon 18, Caja Rural-Seguros RGA, Cofidis and Direct Energie received wildcard entries as well.

This year’s Vuelta not only marks the first for Bora-Argon 18, but it also represents the first time two German teams will participate in the race in  the last seven years. 

The 2016 Vuelta a Espana will start in Galicia with a team time trial on August 20, and it finish with a sprint stage in Madrid on September 11.

Fabio Aru will be defending his title, after wining his first Grand Tour title at last year’s Vuelta a Espana, where be beat Joaquim Rodriguez by almost a minute. 

Cycling: 70th Tour of Spain 2015 / Stage 21 Podium/ ARU Fabio (ITA) Red Leader Jersey/ Celebration Joie Vreugde / Trophee Trofee Cup / Alcala de Henares - Madrid (98,8km)/ Rit Etape / Vuelta Tour d'Espagne Ronde van Spanje /(c)Tim De Waele

WorldTour teams

  1. Ag2r La Mondiale
  2. Astana Pro Team
  3. BMC Racing Team
  4. Cannondale Pro Cycling Team
  5. Etixx – Quick Step
  6. FDJ
  7. IAM Cycling
  8. Lampre – Merida
  9. Lotto Soudal
  10. Movistar Team
  11. Orica GreenEdge
  12. Team Dimension Data
  13. Team Giant – Alpecin
  14. Team Katusha
  15. Team Lotto NL – Jumbo
  16. Team Sky
  17. Tinkoff
  18. Trek – Segafredo

Wildcard teams

  1. Bora – Argon18
  2. Caja Rural – Seguros RGA
  3. Cofidis, Solutions Crédits
  4. Direct Energie



Leave a reply
Share on