- - World Championships 2015 Women's Team Time Trial

World Championships 2015 Women’s Team Time Trial


photo credits @ Velocio-SRAM/Twitter 

Velocio-SRAM confirmed its dominance in the women’s team trial, after claiming the opening team trial at the World Championships in Richmond, Virginia today.

Velo-SRAM rallied during the final few kilometers to upstage Boels-Dolmans, and seize its fourth straight world championship victory.

The German-based, six-rider team covered the 38.6 kilometer course in 47:35.72 seconds – beating Boels-Dolmans by more than 6 seconds, while Rabo-Liv finished in third place at another 50 seconds back to claim bronze.

Led by Trixi Worrack, Velocio-SRAM had dominated the previous three championships under the Specialized-lululemon name. But the Dutch team Boels-Dolmans had pulled ahead by the third time check on Sunday, forcing Velcio-SRAM to rally to the finish for another gold medal.

“We expected a very tight race from the beginning on, and we knew we had to fight to the finish line,”  said Velocio-SRAM’s Lisa Brennauer, “There was no time where we could take a breath or relax. It was all in until the end. When we heard the last 3k that it would be such a close race, we gave it all in the finish. We’re so happy with this victory.”

“I’m really proud of how my team raced today,” Evelyn Stevens said of her Boels Dolmans teammates. “We had a puncture in the first 5k with Christine, so that was just bad luck. I think we could have gotten down because of that. But were were in contention for the whole race, I had teammates go so deep to fight to stay in. Six seconds is sad, but we’re there. It’s a matter of doing a few things differently.”

Top 13 Teams 

1. Velocio-SRAM, in 47:35
2. Boels Dolmans Cycling Team, at :06
3. Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team, at :56
4. Wiggle Honda, at 1:10
5. Twenty 16-Sho-Air, at 2:05
6. UnitedHealthcare Professional Cycling Team, at 2:51
7. Orica-AIS, at 2:54
8. BTC City Ljubljana, at 3:03
9. Optum-Kelly Benefit Strategies, at 3:21
10. Hitec Products, at 3:32
11. Team Tibco-SVB, at 3:59
12. Pepper Palace Pro Cycling-The Happy Tooth, at 5:23
13. BMW-Happy Tooth Dental, at 6:38


Leave a reply
Share on