- - 2013 NEPCX NECXS Providence Cyclo-Cross Festival Round 1

2013 NEPCX NECXS Providence Cyclo-Cross Festival Round 1

Elite Men’s Race 

Jeremy Powers soloed to victory – winning the elite men’s race at the2013  Providence Cyclo-Cross Festival, with Ben Berden out sprinting Tim Johnson for second place just two seconds later. The three were part of a breakaway group that dominated most of the race.  

Together with Ryan Trebon and Raphael Gagne, the five-rider lead group got away and opened a insurmountable gap. Stephen Hyde, Yannick Eckmann and Lukas Winterberg  gave chase, but were never able to make contact with those driving the pace at the head of the race.

The five leaders attacked one another endlessly, however Powers finally put matters to rights  on the last lap. He built up a gap which not only was enough to assure him of the win, but also to shatter the rest of the group. That left Berden and Johnson to fight it out for second place while Gagne and Trebon each came in alone for fourth and fifth respectively.

"Race organizer Richard Fries put a lot of work into this," said Powers. "I’m happy to win so close to home!"

The win gave him the lead in the Shimano New England Professional Cyclocross Series presented by Verge.

Top 25 Finishers 

1 Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus 1:05:06   2 Ben Berden (Bel) Raleigh-Clement 0:00:02   3 Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale p/b     4 Raphael Gagne (Can) Rocky Mountain Factory Team 0:00:13   5 Ryan Trebon (USA) Cannondale p/b 0:00:25   6 Yannick Eckmann (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 0:01:26   7 Lukas Winterberg (Swi) Muller Landscape-BH Bikes     8 Stephen Hyde (USA) JAM Fund-NCC 0:01:27   9 James Driscoll (USA) Raleigh-Clement 0:01:56   10 Jeremy Durrin (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:02:02   11 Luke Keough (USA) Keough Cyclocross 0:02:05   12 Cameron Dodge (USA) Team Skyline-Scott Bikes 0:02:06   13 Zach McDonald (USA) Rapha-Focus     14 Allen Krughoff (USA) Raleigh-Clement 0:02:11 15 Jesse Anthony (USA) Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:02:46   16 Christian Favata (USA) TRT Bicycles p/b Stan’s NoTubes 0:02:47   17 Curtis White (USA) Cannondale p/b 0:02:50   18 Justin Lindine (USA) Redline-NBX 0:02:51   19 Edwin Bull (USA) Van Dessel Factory Team 0:02:55   20 Cody Kaiser (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 0:03:07   21 Tobin Ortenblad (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 0:03:13   22 Isaac Neff (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 0:03:27   23 Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar 0:03:31   24 Jean-Philippe Thibault-Roberge (Can) Trek Cyclocross Collective 0:03:48   25

Derrick St. John (Can) Stevens Racing p/b The Cyclery 0:03:50  

Elite Women’s Race 

Katerina Nash won the women’s race at the 2013 Providence Cyclo-cross Festival, attacking out of a breakaway group to take the win. Elle Anderson was second, with Katie Compton placing third.

The three women attacked from the outset of the race. Meredith Miller and Crystal Anthony gave chase, however, the two were unsuccessful in catching the leading trio. Nash, of the Czech Republic, attacked again out of the group, forcing the two Americans to work together in pursuit of the Luna rider. And, despite a crash late in the race, Nash was still able to maintain enough of a lead to solo to victory.

Compton had come into the race as the top favorite. She is a nine-time US champion, who is successful in both European and US races. It was her first ‘cross race of the season as well as her first appearance at the Roger Williams Park since the US nationals in 2005 and 2006, where she took the title both times.

Nash won recently at CrossVegas, and Anderson was coming off a four-race win streak having swept the weekend races at the Trek Cyclocross Collective Cup followed by the Gran Prix of Gloucester.

Top 25 Finishers 

1 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Pro Team 0:43:24   2 Elle Anderson (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 0:00:07   3 Katie Compton (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 0:00:09   4 Meredith Miller (USA) Cal Giant Berry Farms-Specialized 0:00:55   5 Crystal Anthony (USA) Optum Pro Cycling p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies 0:01:06   6 Nicole Duke (USA) Marin-Spy 0:01:11   7 Gabriella Durrin (GBr) Rapha-Focus 0:01:14   8 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Racing 0:01:30   9 Mary McConneloug (USA) Team Kenda-Stan’s NoTubes 0:01:36   10 Courtenay McFadden (USA) Bicycle Blue Book-HRS-Rock Lobster 0:01:42   11 Laura Van Gilder (USA) Van Dessel p/b Mellow Mushroom 0:01:46   12 Arley Kemmerer (USA) C3-Twenty20 Cycling     13 Caroline Mani (Fra) Raleigh-Clement 0:01:47   14 Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Bob’s Red Mill p/b Seven Cycles     15 Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Cannondale p/b 0:02:01   16 Natasha Elliott (Can) Rare Vos Racing-Stevens 0:02:41   17 Cassandra Maximenko (USA) Rare Vos Racing 0:02:56   18 Maghalie Rochette (Can) 0:03:14   19 Ellen Noble (USA) Trek Cyclocross Collective 0:03:19   20 Amanda Carey (USA) Stan’s NoTubes Elite 0:03:22   21 Carolina Gomez Villafane (Arg) Team Rambuski Law 0:03:29   22 Emma White (USA) 0:03:47   23 Stacey Barbossa (USA) NJ/NY Colavita Women 0:03:50   24 Jenny Ives (USA) Verge Sport-Test Pilot 0:03:58   25 Kate Northcott (USA) Beam Team Racing 0:04:10

Leave a reply
Share on