- - 2013 Superprestige Cyclocross Diegem Elite Men's Race

2013 Superprestige Cyclocross Diegem Elite Men's Race

Despite crashing, Sven Nys managed to remount and  bridge his way back to the front – and win the 2013 Superprestige cyclocross event in Diegem, Belgium today.  

The world champion was alone off the front when he crashed in the fourth lap of today’s race – allowing Niels Albert and Tom Meeusen the opportunity to join him at the front. 

After regaining his composure, Nys accelerated over a short climb just before the course transitioned from pavement back to mud. Only Meeusen was able to stay on his wheel, as Albert fell off the pace. 

Indeed, with two laps remaining, Nys and Meeusen increased their lead over Albert by approximately 6 seconds. From there, Nys began to slowly ride away from Meeusen – opening up a small gap as both riders made their way through a long, sandy section, to include a double barrier in the course. 

Going into the last lap, Nys proceeded to open a gap of six seconds over Meeusen. Meanwhile, Albert continued to fall even further back. 

Nys maintained his lead over of Meeusen just shy of the finish, where he briefly dismounted in order to wave his arms and bike in the air to the excitement of spectators – before crossing the line. Meeusen followed with a wheelie across the line for second place. 

Albert continues to lead the Superprestige series with 79 points. However,  Nys is now within 6 points of the leader, with Lars van der Haar in third  with 63 points.

Result Elite Men
1. Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan-KDL
2. Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet-Fidea
3. Niels Albert (Bel) BKCP-Powerplus
4. Zdeněk Štybar (Cze) Omega Pharma-Quick Step
5. Martin Bina (Cze) Kwadro-Stannah
6. Lars van der Haar (Ned) Rabobank Development Team
7. Rob Peeters (Bel) Telenet-Fidea
8. Philipp Walsleben (Ger) BKCP-Powerplus
9. Marcel Meisen (Ger) Kwadro-Stannah
10. Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb-Napoleon Games


Leave a reply
Share on