- - 2015 Vuelta a Espana Unveiled

2015 Vuelta a Espana Unveiled

Details of the 2015 Vuelta a Espana were presented in Torremolinos, Spain today.

This year’s Spanish Grand Tour will start on the Costa del Sol coastline in Puerto Banús on Saturday August 22, and end in Madrid on September 13.

Race organizers presented the following details at today’s presentation:

In 2015 the Vuelta turns 80 and celebrates its 70th edition that will begin on the 22nd of August in Puerto Banus, in the province of Malaga, with a 7-kilometer Team Time Trial and the joy and responsibility of reaching the level of the 2014 edition, where Alberto Contador, Chris Froome and Alejandro Valverde completed an unforgettable podium.

The first week will take place entirely within Andalusia and then travel all the way up to Andorra, covering almost the entire Mediterranean. The provinces of Malaga, Cadiz, Seville, Cordoba, Jaen, Granada, Murcia, Alicante, Valencia and Castellon will be prominent in the 2015 Vuelta. After the first rest day in Andorra the race will feature one of the toughest stages in the history of the Vuelta, and then head towards the Cantabrian coastline, passing through Lleida, Zaragoza and Vitoria. This will mark the beginning of the mountain triptych in Cantabria and Asturias, with three tough finishes that could make a difference in the general classification.

The only Individual Time Trial will be held in Burgos and will give way to the last week of the Vuelta. Before arriving in Madrid, the riders will face a stage in the Madrid Mountain Range. The finale will once again take place in the Spanish capital where the 2015 Vuelta winner will be crowned on the 13th of September, having completed a tour with 9 high-altitude finishes, all of them unprecedented.

Vuelta a España 2015 stages:

  • Saturday August 22nd Stage one: Porto Banus – Marbella (7.4km team time trial)
  • Sunday August 23rd stage two: Alhaurin de la Torre – Caminito del Rey (mountain finish 1)
  • Monday August 24th stage three: Mijas – Malaga 
  • Tuesday August 25th stage four: Estepona – Vejer de la Frontera (mountain finish 2)
  • Wednesday August 26th stage five: Rota – Alcalá de Guadáira
  • Thursday August 27th stage six: Cordoba – Cazorla (mountain finish 3)
  • Friday August 28th: stage seven: Jodar – Capilleira (mountain finish 4)
  • Saturday August 29th: stage eight: Puebla de Don Fabrique – Murcia
  • Sunday August 30th: stage nine: Torrevieja – Cumbre del Sol (mountain finish 5)
  • Monday August 31st: stage 10: Valencia – Castellon 
  • Tuesday September 1st: Andorra (rest day 1)
  • Wednesday September 2nd: stage 11: Andorra – Els Cortals de Encamp (mountain finish 6)
  • Thursday September 3rd: stage 12: Andorra – Lleida
  • Friday September 4th: stage 13: Catalayud  – Tarazona
  • Saturday September 5th: stage 14: Vitoria – Fuente del Chivo (mountain finish 7)
  • Sunday September 6th: stage 15: Comillas – Jitu de Escarandi (mountain finish 8)
  • Monday September 7th: stage 16: Luarca  – Ermita del Alba (mountain finish 9)
  • Tuesday September 8th: Burgos (rest day 2)
  • Wednesday September 9th: stage 17: Burgos – Burgos: individual time trial (39km)
  • Thursday September 10th: stage 18: Roa de Duero – Riaza
  • Friday September 11th: stage 19: Medina del Campo – Avila
  • Saturday September 12th: stage 20: San Lorenzo de El Escorial – Cercedilla
  • Sunday September 13th: stage 21: Alcalá de Henares – Madrid.

Leave a reply
Share on