- - Cyclocross World Cup Koksijde 2014

Cyclocross World Cup Koksijde 2014

Wout Van Aert (Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace Cycling Team) won this year’s Cyclocross World Cup Koksijde today, in a solo victory ahead of his closest rival – Kevin Pauwels (Sunweb-Napoleon Games).

Halfway through today’s race, Van Aert succeeded in riding clear of the field. And, from there, the Belgian rider never looked back – crossing the line almost a minute ahead of Pauwels (Sunweb-Napoleon Games), followed by Mathieu van der Poel (BKCP-Powerplus) about another 10 seconds behind.

Van Aert dedicated his win to fellow Belgian racer Niels Albert, who retired last May as a result of a heart condition. 

Albert is now the sport director for Van Aert’s Vastgoedservice-Golden Palace Cycling Team.

“It’s a really special race for my team leader Niels Albert,” Van Aert said. 

“Before the race he asked me to do something special, and this victory is for him.”

Top 20 Finishers     

1 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Ct 1:02:34   2 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Sunweb – Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:00:41   3 Mathieu Van Der Poel (Ned) Bkcp – Powerplus 0:00:53   4 Tom Meeusen (Bel) Telenet – Fidea 0:00:55   5 Klaas Vantornout (Bel) Sunweb – Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:00:57   6 Jens Adams (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Ct 0:00:58   7 Corne Van Kessel (Ned) Telenet – Fidea 0:01:05   8 Philipp Walsleben (Ger) Bkcp – Powerplus 0:01:08   9 Rob Peeters (Bel) Vastgoedservice – Golden Palace Ct 0:01:11   10 Bart Wellens (Bel) Telenet – Fidea 0:01:15   11 Laurens Sweeck (Bel) Corendon – Kwadro 0:01:24   12 Julien Taramarcaz (Swi) Corendon – Kwadro 0:01:37   13 Toon Aerts (Bel) Telenet – Fidea 0:01:58   14 Niels Wubben (Ned) Telenet – Fidea 0:02:08   15 Sven Nys (Bel) Crelan-AA Drink 0:02:09   16 Jim Aernouts (Bel) Sunweb – Napoleon Games Cycling Team     17 Jeremy Powers (USA) Rapha-Focus 0:02:22   18 Michael Vanthourenhout (Bel) Sunweb – Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:02:46   19 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Corendon – Kwadro 0:02:49   20 Gianni Vermeersch (Bel) Sunweb – Napoleon Games Cycling Team 0:02:50

In the women’s race, Sanne Cant (Enertherm-BKCP) continued her streak of victories, by winning the women’s event in Koksijde today as well. 

The Belgian rider finished ahead of Dutch riders Sabrina Stultiens and Sophie de Boer (Kalas-NNOF), who placed second and third at seven seconds behind Cant. 

Meanwhile, American Katie Compton suffered an asthma attack during the race – causing her to finish as far back as 10th place. 


Top 20 Finishers 

1 Sanne Cant (Bel) Enertherm-BKCP 0:42:52   2 Sabrina Stultiens (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team 0:00:06   3 Sophie De Boer (Ned) Parkhotel Valkenburg Continental Team     4 Lucie Chainel-Lefevre (Fra) 0:01:01   5 Nikki Harris (GBr) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:01:18   6 Martina Mikulaskova (Cze) 0:01:51   7 Pavla Havlikova (Cze) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:02:03   8 Ellen Van Loy (Bel) VZW Young Telenet Fidea Cycling Team 0:02:16   9 Helen Wyman (GBr) Kona Factory Team 0:02:22   10 Katherine Compton (USA) Trek Factory Racing 0:02:57   11 Sanne Van Paassen (Ned) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:03:24   12 Rachel Lloyd (USA) California Giant-Specialized 0:03:25   13 Jolien Verschueren (Bel) Wielerteam Decock-Woningbouw Vandekerckhove 0:03:43   14 Gabriella Durrin (GBr) Neon Velo 0:03:53   15 Caroline Mani (Fra) Raleigh-Clement 0:03:59   16 Karen Verhestraeten (Bel) 0:04:04   17 Christine Majerus (Lux) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team 0:04:07   18 Githa Michiels (Bel) Trek-Kmc Trade Team 0:04:10   19 Crystal Anthony (USA) Optum Pro Cycling 0:05:05   20 Loes Sels (Bel) 0:05:23

Leave a reply
Share on